a day in the life of…

…Ruth!

Though every day looks different, I’ll try to describe an ‘average’ day.

At 7am the bell rings, cause it’s breakfast time. Toast with cheese, a cup of tea and a boiled egg? Don’t think so. Think something like rice, beans and chiyaa (=milk tea with lots of herbs) and you’re getting the idea.

After breakfast it’s time for things like homework, quiet time, taking a shower, practice Nepali, etc.

At 9:15 I take my backpack and walk over a narrow little path through some kind of a jungle to the main road of the village. This is where the busstop is. On the way I usually meet many locals, who’re carrying wood or bringing their kids to school. Most of those kids love to practice their English on me, which is usually 2 words: “Hello!” and “Bye!”

Sometimes I get some bananas or oranges at a little shop next to the road. Then I take the bus. In Bagar I get off the bus, and walk to the INF building, where my language lessons are. On the road there are many fruitstalls, people, animals, garbage…Life in Nepal never stands still: when the sun rises, shops open.

From 10am to 13pm I have Nepali lessons, from my teacher Anju. She’s Nepali, and her English is quite good – good enough to teach me, at least! It’s not just Nepali I learn from her, but also little cultural things. She had a good laugh when I asked her if her husband was older than she is. Of course he was!! It’s pretty much unthinkable you’d marry a younger guy. She was amazed by the fact I drank my tea without any milk or sugar. You could hardly call that tea…

After my classes, I take the bus back up. Round 2 pm I arrive at the base and I can eat my lunch, which they save for me, since they eat at 12pm. After lunch it’s time for homework, tea break, internet, research, and/or practicing Nepali, etc.

At 6:30pm it’s dinner time. This is usually dal baht, which literally means lentil soup rice. And that’s what it is. They have a surprising number of variations on this, fortunately. In the mean time it has become quite a bit colder. From 20 degrees during the day to 6 or 7 in the evening is a big difference.

In the evening, again there’s time for homework, internet, research and/or Nepali. I spend a lot of time socializing, since this not only builds friendships, but is also good for my Nepali learning! :-)

Leave a Reply

