Things I Might Also Do At Home (or anywhere else)

Let me set this straight: I love Nepal. I love the culture. I love the people. As I described in my post earlier, there are certain things I do not love so much.

However, here’s a few things I do love. These are the things I hope to take with me wherever I go.

– cook delicious chiyaa (Nepali spiced milktea)
– always get up before 8am, or even better, before 7am – that includes the weekends
– have my house open for guests, all the time
– treat my friends like my family (if only the Dutch language had good translations for didi, bahini, daai, bhai…etc.)
– cook without a recipe. This is the way to challenge your taste and smell, rather than just follow the instructions.
– kill birds and crickets, cook them and eat them.

On each of these points I could write a separate blog, which I might do at one point. But for now: shuva raatri! And bholi betaaula :-)

ps – that one about the birds and crickets was a joke (I let others kill them).

————————————————

Voor de duidelijkheid: ik hou van Nepal. Ik hou van de cultuur. Ik hou van de mensen. Zoals ik eerder al beschreven heb, zijn er bepaalde dingen waar ik iets minder van hou.

Maar hier is een lijstje met dingen waar ik wel van hou. Dit zijn de dingen die ik hoop mee te nemen, waar ik ook ga.l

– heerlijke chiyaa maken (Nepali melkthee met kruiden)
– altijd voor 8u opstaan, of nog beter, voor 7u – inclusief weekends
– mijn huis altijd voor gasten open hebben
– mijn vrienden als mijn familie behandelen (helaas heeft het Nederlands geen goede vertaling voor didi, bahini, daai, bhai…etc.)
– zonder recept koken. Dit is de manier om je smaak en reuk uit te proberen, in plaats van domweg de instructies te volgen.
– vogels en krekels vangen, koken en opeten

Ik zou over elk punt een aparte blog kunnen schrijven, wat ik misschien ook nog wel ga doen…

Maar voor nu: shuva raatri! En bholi betaaula :-)

ps – van die vogels en krekels was een grapje (ik laat ze door anderen vangen)

Leave a Reply

