It Hurts Me

It hurts me to see kids in the alley with their glue bags and cigarettes.

It hurts me to see 3 kids steal another kids piece of cardboard, which he probably was gonna use as a bed. And he can’t fight back cause one hand he needs for holding up his pants which are too wide and full of holes.

No one is taking care of them.

Where were you when you were 7? Did you live on the street, working hard to deserve the respect of the older kids, to collect some rupees to buy some more glue, trying to get the attention of the people who usually wouldn’t even look at you cause you were dirty and just a beggar kid? Were you going through the garbage to see if there’s anything useful in there? Were you abandoned by your father when he married another wife after your mother died?

All this talk about poverty, addiction, social injustice and human rights – but why are these children still here? Why don’t they get the chances I got?

This is not a sad story. It’s REALITY. It’s reality for way too many kids and it makes me sick to think about it and even more sick to realize that I’m living my comfortable life and they’re NOT.

I have to look away to keep my heart from breaking.

But you know what? The truth is, my hurting heart won’t help them. It won’t give them food or love or care or a place to stay. I can be sad as much as I want but none of my tears will be of any good to them.

What am I supposed to do? I don’t know, I really don’t know.

Tell me if you do.

———————————————————–

Het doet pijn om kinderen in een steeg te zien met hun lijmzakjes en sigaretten.

Het doet pijn om 3 kinderen een stuk karton van een ander kind te zien stelen, die het waarschijnlijk als bed zou gaan gebruiken. En hij kan niet terugvechten want hij heeft een hand nodig om zijn broek op te houden die te wijd is en vol gaten zit.

Niemand zorgt voor ze.

Waar was jij toen je 7 was? Leefde je op straat, waar je hard werkte om het respect van de oudere kinderen te verdienen, om een paar rupees bij elkaar te schrapen om lijm te kunnen kopen, om de aandacht van mensen te krijgen die je meestal niet eens aankeken omdat je vies was, en een bedelaar? Ging je door het afval heen in de hoop iets bruikbaars te vinden? Was je aan de kant gezet door je vader toen hij een andere vrouw trouwde nadat jouw moeder overleed?

Al dat gepraat over armoede, verslaving en social injustice, maar waarom zijn deze kinderen hier nog steeds? Waarom krijgen ze niet de kansen die ik heb gehad?

Dit is niet een triest verhaal. Dit is REALITEIT voor veel te veel kinderen en het maakt me letterlijk ziek als ik eraan denk en nog meer als ik me realiseer dat ik mijn comfortabele leven leef en zij NIET.

Ik moet wegkijken zodat mijn hart niet breekt.

Maar weet je wat het is? De pijn in mijn hart helpt hen niets. Het geeft ze geen eten of liefde of zorg of een plek om te wonen. Ik kan zo verdrietig zijn als ik maar wil, maar mijn tranen zullen hen op geen enkele manier helpen.

Wat moet ik doen? Ik weet het niet.

Zeg het maar als jij het wel weet.

One thought on “It Hurts Me

  1. Pingback: Compassion « Ruth's Journey

Leave a Reply

