Did You Know That…

Did you know that…

Paul is the best in coming up with silly games, like “How many dots has this Sprite bottle?” (120) or “I saw the word ‘vision’, tell me where it is” (when looking at 2312 signs and billboards in the street).

I’m exchanging emails with my sister with as sole purpose coming up with beautiful Dutch words.

Today I weeded for 4 hours, in millet fields, with about 10 Nepali friends. They all spoke Nepali very fast and I couldn’t understand more than 3 or 4 words, which made me feel lonely.

Every now and then I feel homesick, though this is not a feeling like “I want to be away from this”. It’s more like “I wish I could talk to my family, right now.” I want to be here…but with them.

I’m making a travel itinerary in Excel. Yes, I’m a nerd.

For the above mentioned travels, I have by now booked two flights and one train. And there will be another train, too.

We saw Peter walking on the lake. (It was probably one of his descendants, though.)

Sunil is way faster with cutting grass, then I am. He also adopted me as his sister one day, since he didn’t have any.

———————————————————-

Sunil, a.k.a. The Grass Cutter

peter's great great great etc. grandson

paul – one of my favourite people around here

———————————————————-

Wist je dat…

Paul heel goed is in maffe spelletjes bedenken, zoals “Hoeveel stippen heeft dit Sprite flesje” (120) of “Ik zie het woord “Vision”, waar is het?” (terwijl we tegen 2312 reclameborden in de straat aankijken).

Ik een emailwisseling heb met mijn zus, met als enige doel ‘mooie Nederlandse woorden’ uit te wisselen.

Ik vandaag 4 uur lang onkruid heb gewied, in gierst velden, met ongeveer 10 Nepali vrienden. Ze praatten allemaal heel snel Nepali en ik begreep niet meer dan 3 of 4 woorden, waardoor ik me alleen voelde.

Ik af en toe heimwee heb, al voelt dat niet als “Ik wil hier weg zijn”, maar meer als “Ik zou NU met mijn familie willen praten”. Ik wil hier zijn…maar met hen.

Ik een reissschema aan het maken ben in Excel. Ja, ik ben een nerd.

Voor de eerder genoemde reizen, ik nu twee vluchten en een trein heb geboekt, en dat er nog een trein bijkomt.

We Petrus op het meer hebben zien lopen (hoewel het waarschijnlijk niet hemzelf was, maar een van zijn nakomelingen).

Sunil veel sneller is dan ik als het gaat om gras snijden. Hij heeft me ook geadopteerd als zijn zus, omdat hij er geen had.

7 thoughts on “Did You Know That…

  1. wizzjedatikjeheelergmizz…
    niet zozeer van: was je maar hier, maar: was ik maar daar, bij haar. Ik wil je zien grassnijden en grapjes maken met Paul en de was doen en je nepali horen spreken.

  2. in·sub·or·di·na·tie (de ~ (v.), ~s)
    1 verzet tegen het gezag waaraan men door zijn functie ondergeschikt is => tuchteloosheid

    (waarom ik dat woord ken is mij overigens volstrekt onbekend…)

Leave a Reply

