Black Tea, or Living In Another Culture

Last week, when looking at the work duty schedule, I noticed they put my name in the time slot at Tuesday morning, with as duty ‘chiyaa pakaaune’. For those of you who don’t speak Nepali: that means ‘to cook tea’.

Now, this may not sound like a big deal. To be honest, it isn’t, really. But it’s at least a medium deal. And not only because I would have to get up sometime before the sun rises. Nepali’s don’t make tea by boiling water and putting a tea bag in the pot. It has something to do with water, milk, tea leaves, and a whole bunch of questionable ingredients that together make a delicious spiced milk tea.

Second of all, they don’t use recipes here.

I was quite relieved to find out I wouldn’t need to make milk tea, but black tea. But when I asked my friend how to tackle this problem, I got this answer: “Boil water, then put the tea leaves in, and then sugar, and let it boil for a little bit. That’s it.”

I didn’t dare to ask more (How much water? How much tea? WHEN do I put the tea leaves in? And how much sugar? A tea spoon or 3 cups?) cause it didn’t sound like something people ask many questions about. Cooking tea is just something you do.

At six o’clock I got up and went into the kitchen. To my disappointment, no one else was there. I had secretly hoped for someone who would just hang out there and then offer to make the tea.

It was just me, and the stove.

I filled up a pan with water, put it on the stove, looked at the container with tea leaves, found the sugar – and then woke up Isaac the cook and asked for help.

So now I know how to make black tea like the Nepali’s do.

Now, what do I want to tell my faithful readers with this story? Not how you make black tea, don’t worry. But here are a few things I have learned so far, and this will go for anyone living in a foreign culture with countless things to learn, and too many questions throughout the day.

make friends. Whether we are Nepali, Cambodian, Indonesian or French: we’re all human beings. The fact that you were born in a different country doesn’t make others aliens.
And if you’re gonna live with them, you will need friends who help you find your way in this new world.

try. I don’t know how many times I have heard myself say ‘I don’t know how to do that’. But as soon I’d hear this words coming out of my mouth, I wish I could undo it. Instead, I’d add ‘but I’ll try.” My first momo’s looked nothing like a momo. But the third and the fourth and the fifth did.

dare to ask. Most people are glad to tell you how things work. They probably know you’re not a local – either by the way you look, the way you talk, or the way you cut your fingers instead of the grass.
Ask them to teach you and you’ll learn.

laugh. Laugh a lot. It’s healthy and it makes the whole world look better. Remember how I once went into a shop and asked for glasses ‘because it’s raining’? Whatever mistakes you make, don’t be embarrassed, but laugh about it, and know that next time, you won’t make the same mistake.
A

And finally…write your journal. Talk to your parents. Send your friends a postcard. Look at your family photos. Go out for a coffee, by yourself. Listen to your favorite music. Blog about everything.

Be you.


they look like we bought them from the shop

Vorige week bestudeerde ik het work duty schema, en ik zag dat ze mijn naam op dinsdagochtend hadden gezet, met als taak ‘chiyaa pakaaune’. Voor degenen onder ons die geen Nepali spreken: dat betekent ‘thee maken’.

Dit klinkt misschien niet als een big deal. Eerlijk gezegd, is dat het ook niet. Maar het is op zijn minst een medium deal. En niet alleen omdat ik ergens voor zonsopgang op zou moeten staan. Als Nepali’s thee maken, doen ze dat niet door water te koken en een theezakje in de pot te hangen. Het is iets met water, melk, theebladeren, en een heleboel dubieuze ingredienten die samen een heerlijke kruidige melkthee maken.

Ten tweede, ze gebruiken hier geen recepten.

Ik was opgelucht toen ik ontdekte dat ik geen melkthee hoefde te maken, maar black tea. Maar toen ik aan een vriend vroeg hoe ik dit moest aanpakken, kreeg ik het volgende antwoord: “Kook water, doe de thee erin, en dan suiker, en laat het dan even koken. Dat is alles.”

Ik durfde niet meer te vragen (Hoe veel water? Hoe veel thee? WANNEER doe ik de thee erin? En hoeveel suiker? Een theelepel of 3 kopjes?) want het klonk niet als iets waar je veel vragen over stelt. Thee maken is iets wat je gewoon doet.

Om 6 uur werd ik wakker en ging ik naar de keuken. Tot mijn teleurstelling was daar niemand. Ik had stiekem gehoopt dat er iemand zou zijn die daar gewoon zat te chillen en dan zou aanbieden om de thee te maken.

Maar het was alleen ik, en het fornuis.

Dus ik vulde een pan met water, zette die op het fornuis, keek naar het blik met thee, pakte de suiker – en maakte toen Isaac de kok wakker om te vragen of hij kon helpen.

En nu weet ik hoe je black tea maakt zoals de Nepali’s dat doen.

Goed, wat wil ik mijn trouwe lezers vertellen met dit verhaal? Niet hoe je black tea maakt, in elk geval. Maar er zijn een paar dingen die ik tot nu toe heb geleerd, en die werkten voor iedereen die in een andere cultuur leven met ontelbaar veel dingen om te leren, en elke dag teveel vraagtekens.

– maak vrienden. Of we nou Nepali, Cambodjaans, Indonesisch of Frans zijn: we zijn allemaal mensen. Dat je in een ander land bent geboren maakt de rest geen aliens. En als je samen met ze gaat leven, dan heb je vrienden nodig die je helpen je weg te vinden in deze andere wereld.

probeer het uit. Ik weet niet hoe vaak ik mezelf heb horen zeggen ‘Ik weet niet hoe dat moet’. Maar op het moment dat ik het zei wenste ik dat ik het terug kon nemen. In plaats daarvan voegde ik toe ‘maar ik ga het proberen’. De eerste momo’s die ik maakte leken in niets op momo’s. Maar de derde wel, en de vierde ook, en de vijfde.

durf te vragen. De meeste mensen vertellen je graag hoe dingen werken. Ze weten waarschijnlijk dat je geen local bent – door hoe je eruit ziet, hoe je praat, of hoe je je vingers snijdt in plaats van gras. Vraag ze of ze je dingen willen uitleggen en laten zien, en je gaat nieuwe dingen leren.

lach. Lach heel veel. Het is gezond en de wereld ziet er meteen een stuk beter uit. Weet je nog hoe ik ooit om een bril vroeg ‘omdat het regent’? Wat voor fouten je ook maakt, schaam je er niet voor, maar lach erom en onthou dat je niet nog een keer dezelfde fout zal maken.

En ten slotte…schrijf in je dagboek. Praat met je ouders. Stuur je vrienden een kaart. Bekijk je familiefoto’s. Ga ergens koffie drinken, in je eentje. Luister je favoriete muziek. Blog over alles.

Wees jezelf.

One thought on “Black Tea, or Living In Another Culture

Leave a Reply

