Mountains

“Lord, our Lord, your signature is written beautifully on all the earth.”

Sore muscles, a few too many mosquito bites and a lot of laundry – that’s what’s left over from our 4 day mountain trip. But it was so worth it.

I wish I could describe the beauty of this country, but even pictures won’t suffice.

And the people we met on the way, all of them with their own story.

A lady who raises a 1,5 yr old girl whom she had found in the jungle as a newborn baby.
A girl who quit school to work in the family hostel. Who can go from Ghorepani to Chitwan in a day (7 hr walk, 1,5 hr taxi ride, 3 hr bus ride).
The Englishman who declared his body was falling apart after a 4 day hike. Who then ordered a beer and whiskey, to underline his statement perhaps.
The man who was burning incense for his mother who had passed away years ago.
The Finnish lady who is retired and travels 2 months in a year.

I loved talking to all of these and many more people on the way and I wish I could have heard their life stories.

I made new friends who I will visit later this year, hopefully.

And with all the fun Lydia and I had, the wonderful people we met along the way, our porter who would sometimes dance and sing (and one time scooped up a giant snail, wrapped it in some leaves and put it in his pocket), the donkeys, the tourists, the butterflies, the flowers – all that was left was

THANKFULNESS

That I get to do this. That I get to live here. That this exists. I’m living the dream I had as a little girl.

While I was walking, a thought crossed my mind: “I’m doing what I’m made to do.”
That doesn’t mean I’m supposed to do this for the rest of my life.
It does mean that I was made to do this, at this moment, in this place.

My friends – God is so good.

donkeys

the Hunchback of the Himalaya

always fashionable

valley

Nepal

“Here, onze Here, uw handtekening staat prachtig onder heel de wereld.”

Spierpijn, iets teveel muggenbulten en een heleboel was – dat is wat er over is van onze bergtocht van 4 dagen. Maar het was het helemaal waard.

Ik zou willen dat ik kon beschrijven hoe mooi dit land is, maar zelfs foto’s zijn daarvoor niet voldoende.

En de mensen die we onderweg hebben ontmoet, met allemaal hun eigen verhaal.

Een vrouw die een meisje van 1,5 opvoedt, die ze als pasgeboren baby in het bos heeft gevonden.
Een meisje die was gestopt met school om in het familie hotel te werken. Die in 1 dag van Ghorepani naar Chitwan kan (7u lopen, 1,5 in de taxi, 3u met de bus).
De Engelsman die na een bergtocht van een paar dagen ‘my body is falling apart’ verklaarde, en vervolgens bier en whiskey bestelde – om zijn statement te onderstrepen, wellicht.
Een man die wierook voor zijn moeder brandde die jaren geleden is overleden.
De Finse gepensioneerde vrouw die 2 maanden per jaar op reis is.

Ik vond het geweldig om met al deze en nog veel meer mensen te praten, en ik zou willen dat ik tijd had gehad om hun levensverhaal te horen.

Ik heb nieuwe vrienden gemaakt die ik hopelijk later dit jaar weer ga opzoeken.

En met alle gezelligheid die Lydia en ik hadden, de mooie mensen die we onderweg hebben ontmoet, de drager die soms danste en zong (en op een gegeven moment een gigantische slak opraapte, in een paar bladeren wikkelde en in zijn zak stopte), de ezels, de toeristen, de vlinders, de bloemen – alles wat overbleef was

DANKBAARHEID

Dat ik dit mag doen. Dat ik hier mag leven. Dat dit bestaat. Ik leef de droom die ik als klein meisje had.

Toen ik aan het lopen was, realiseerde ik me iets: “Ik ben aan het doen waarvoor ik gemaakt ben.”
Dat betekent niet dat ik dit voor de rest van mijn leven moet doen.
Het betekent dat ik ervoor gemaakt ben om dit te doen, op dit moment, op deze plek.

God is zo goed.

5 thoughts on “Mountains

  1. Ruthie!
    Ik geloof dat Jezus zijn droom over jou in jou uitleeft.
    Zijn naam staat prachtig over je leven uitgeschreven. :-)
    En ik ben èrg dankbaar.

Leave a Reply

