Today I’m 21 Years Old

I was talking to my brother today, and he asked, ‘how long have you been in Nepal again? Like, 1,5 years or so?’
I laughed, and told him it had only been 8 months.

Eight months!

And I don’t blame him, because if you’d ask me, I would want to say the same. Eight months is a number, but it feels like I’ve been here for a year or two, at least.

I’ve never been good with things like time and distance and quantity. To me, it’s all equally abstract.

If you ask me about distances I will make a guess, and pretend like I know what I’m talking about – but 500 meters or 2 kilometers is all the same in my head.

I have no clue about big amounts of anything.
A car is heavy, a cruise ship is VERY heavy.
10.000 or 20.000 euros really is not different. Just a lot of money.

I know my age because I know my year of birth, and a new year is added every 365 days, but the number 24 truly doesn’t mean anything to me. I could be 21 or 30, for all I know.

So I really think we should be able to handle those things more loosely, depending on how you feel.
How old are you? I feel like 20 today, so I’m 20.
How far is the Netherlands from Nepal? Today you’ll have to travel around the world three times in order to get there, but tomorrow it might only be a 20 minute busride away.
How long have you lived in Nepal? A day, a year, a lifetime. Depends on when you ask me.

Anyway. I will board an airplane in 3 days.
And according to the calendar I will be home in less than 3 weeks. If you’d ask me though, it would be tomorrow :-)

———————————————————————

 

Life in Nepal - always an adventure

 

———————————————————————

Vandaag was ik aan het bellen met mijn broer, en hij vroeg: ‘Hoe lang ben je nu al in Nepal? Anderhalf jaar, ofzo?’
Ik vertelde hem dat ik hier nog maar 8 maanden woon.

Acht maanden!

En ik kan het hem niet kwalijk nemen, want als je het mij zou vragen, zou ik hetzelfde antwoord willen geven. Acht maanden is een getal, maar het voelt alsof ik hier al een of twee jaar  woon, minstens.

Ik ben nooit erg goed geweest met dingen als tijd en afstand en hoeveelheid. Voor mij is het allemaal even abstract.

Als je mij een vraag stelt over afstand dan gok ik, en doe ik net alsof ik weet waar ik het over heb – maar 500 meter of 2 kilometer zijn in mijn hoofd hetzelfde.

Ik weet ook niks over grote hoeveelheden van wat dan ook.
Een auto is zwaar, een cruise ship is HEEL erg zwaar.
10.000 of 20.000 euro maakt geen verschil. Het is gewoon veel geld.

Ik weet hoe oud ik ben omdat ik mijn geboortejaar weet, en elke 365 dagen komt er een jaar bij, maar het getal 24 betekent niks voor me. Als het aan mij lag kon ik ook 21 zijn, of 30.

En daarom denk ik dat we iets makkelijker met deze dingen zouden moeten kunnen omgaan, afhankelijk van hoe je je erover voelt.
Hoe oud ben je? Ik voel me 20 vandaag, dus ben ik 20.
Hoe ver is het van Nepal naar Nederland? Vandaag moet je de wereld drie keer rond gaan voordat je er bent, maar morgen hoef je misschien alleen 20 minuten met de bus.
Hoe lang woon je nu in Nepal? Een dag, een jaar, een leven lang. Het hangt er vanaf wanneer je het vraagt.

Anyway. Over 3 dagen stap ik in een vliegtuig.
En volgens mijn agenda ben ik over minder dan 3 weken thuis, maar als je het aan mij vraagt, is dat morgen :-)

One thought on “Today I’m 21 Years Old

  1. joepie!!!!!!
    Straks ben je thuis en vandaag voel ik me 22 en Nepal is wel ver maar ook niet weer zó ver. 1 1/2 jaar of 8 maanden, dat is gewoon lang, maar hóe lang..?
    Niet zó lang, maar 18 dágen vind ik wel èrg lang.
    Kom maar gauw een tijdje naar huis. Lang.
    Wat is ‘lang’ eigenlijk? Nepalees woord?

Leave a Reply

