Dudh Chiyaa And Rootbeer Floats

It won’t be long before I’ll be back in the Netherlands, and there are a few things you should know. Cause you thought I was still the same Ruth, but no…

I rather sit on the floor than on the couch.
I drink hot water with my meals.
If you plan to serve me Dutch food: I have never liked sauerkraut stew (? a typical Dutch meal), I prefer rice! And why don’t you serve some lentils with that!
I prefer to talk Nepali with you. In case your Nepali is a little rusty, I have a book you can use to learn. My second language of choice would be English.
When I shake my head, it means ‘yes’.
I always carry a flash light with me, just in case of load shedding.
I don’t drink Pickwick tea, I drink ‘dudh chiyaa’.
I would cross the highway if I had to. On foot.
I don’t accept the prize when I want to buy something. I will bargain and I expect a discount because I speak Nepali.
I don’t drink water from the tap.
I will soak fruits and vegetables in iodined water for at least 20 minutes, before eating it.
When I’d meet you for the first time, one of my first questions will be how many family members you have. The next question will be from which village you are.
I’ll take off my shoes before entering a house.

And now a few random things.

Funny: going for dinner at The Lazy Gringo and running into eight people I know. And this happens EVERYTIME I go there.

Ironic: that there are transportation strikes in Paris. Where I’ll be in a week. “Flashbacks to strikes in Nepal when I got back from Indonesia.”

Interesting: things I learn about America(ns). That often they don’t like soft-boiled egg. That they don’t drink their coffee with the spoon still in the cup. That a mom who had a pot of tea ready when you came home from school, is not as cliche as it is in the Netherlands (they would drink milk). That rootbeer is not beer and that you can put icecream in it which makes it a rootbeer float.

Funny: that the local grocery store has rootbeer in the liquor section.

ps – no worries. I’m still Dutch Ruth. Bring on the cheese, karnemelk and kroketten!!

———————————————————————–

 

Nu ik bijna weer in Nederland ben, zijn er een paar dingen die jullie moeten weten. Je dacht natuurlijk dat ik nog gewoon Ruth ben, maar niets is minder waar.

Ik zit liever op de grond dan op de bank.
Ik drink warm water bij het eten.
Ben je van plan om me ‘heerlijke Hollandse kost’ aan te bieden: ik heb nooit van stamppot zuurkool gehouden, geef mij maar rijst! En doe er ook wat linzen bij.
Ik spreek je het liefst aan in het Nepali. Beheers je deze taal nog niet zo goed: ik heb nog wel een boek in de aanbieding. Mijn tweede keuze is Engels.
Als ik met mijn hoofd schud bedoel ik ‘ja’.
Ik heb altijd een zaklamp bij me, voor het geval er loadshedding is.
Ik drink geen Pickwick thee, ik drink ‘dudh chiyaa’.
Ik steek rustig de A2 over als het moet. Lopend.
Ik accepteer de prijs niet als ik iets wil kopen. Ik onderhandel er eerst over en verwacht korting omdat ik Nepali spreek.
Ik drink geen kraanwater.
Ik laat groenten en fruit minstens 20 minuten in water met iodine liggen, voor ik het eet.
Als ik je voor het eerst ontmoet, is een van de eerste vragen die ik stel hoeveel familieleden je hebt. Een volgende vraag is uit welk dorp je komt.
Ik doe mijn schoenen uit als ik een huis binnenga.

Dat was het wel.

En dan nog een paar random dingen.

Grappig: om bij The Lazy Gringo in Kathmandu te gaan eten, en daar ongepland acht bekenden tegenkomen. En dat gebeurt ALTIJD als ik daar eet.

Ironisch: dat er vervoersstakingen zijn in Parijs. Waar ik over een week ben. “Flashbacks naar stakingen in Nepal toen ik terugkwam uit Indonesie.”

Interessant: dingen die ik leer over Amerika(nen). Dat ze meestal niet van zachtgekookte eieren houden. Dat ze hun koffie niet drinken met het lepeltje nog in de kop. Dat een moeder die klaarzit met een pot thee als je uit school komt niet zo cliche is als in Nederland (ze zouden daar melk drinken). Dat rootbeer geen bier is en dat je er ijs in kan doen wat het een rootbeer float maakt.

Grappig: dat de supermarkt rootbeer in de sterke-drank afdeling heeft staan.

ps – geen zorgen. Ik ben gewoon Nederlandse Ruth. Kom maar op met die kaas, karnemelk en kroketten!!

6 thoughts on “Dudh Chiyaa And Rootbeer Floats

  1. hey Ruthie!
    kom maar op, ik ben niet bang voor je. Voor mij ben je dezelfde Ruth die ik al 24 jaar ken. De pickwickthee staat klaar, de kroketten in de vriezer en de nrc-journalisten wachten je al op bij de oprit van de A2. Wij drinken verse karnemelk en pellen ons sappig mandarijntje af. ‘k Moet alleen je bed nog opmaken en Ellen uitzwaaien wanneer de trein naar Parijs vertrekt.

  2. Haha! Pas maar op Ruth met wat je schrijft, straks geloven mensen je nog!
    Ik was trouwens laatst ook nog bij The lazy Gringo’, leuk tentje :-P Ik was daar met nog wat mensen die jij wel kent…!

  3. SWEET post. sometimes after school we americans would also drink sunny delight, nowadays known as “sunny d.” at least, that’s what the commercials say. i never had it when i came home from school.

    so yesterday i went to say hi to my friend at her clothing shop, but she was busy assisting a customer, so instead of being an awkward american who just looks awkward and leaves, i decided to stand in the doorway, look awkward, and watch everything they did. ke garne?

    see you in six weeks!!!

Leave a Reply

