Meeting Strangers

Most of the traveling I have done in my life, I did alone. And especially this year I’ve been on more planes and buses and trains then every before.

Generally, I don’t start talking with strangers. I’m traveling, you’re traveling and that’s all we have in common. But I seem to have a face that says ‘you can talk to me, no problemo!

And I do like it!

On my way to London I sat next to a Korean guy studying in the UK and we talked about the cultural differences between Europe and Asia. I may have fallen asleep on his shoulder – definitely not intentionally though!

At the Doha airport I ended up talking to a guy promoting a recently released perfume and he told me which chairs where the best to sleep on. Not because they’re comfortable, but because security was closest, there. (note to self: no lay overs on Doha, again. Ever.)

A girl from the UK, born in Zimbabwe, who had studied in South Africa and lived in Cambodia, helped me to get my suitcase on the top shelf in the train and she happened to be sitting next to me. She had tons of stories from her travels.
Then the two ladies across from us shared their bottle of champagne and we all had a jolly good time!

There will be a time I won’t travel by myself anymore, but now I still am I’ll enjoy the random conversations and random situations with random strangers that just seem to happen to me!

 

————————————————————————-

 

Het grootste gedeelte van de reizen die ik in mijn leven heb gemaakt, heb ik alleen gedaan. Vooral dit jaar ben ik in meer vliegtuigen en bussen en treinen geweest dan ooit.

Over het algemeen begin ik geen gesprekken met onbekenden. Ik ben op reis, jij bent op reis en dat is alles wat we gemeenschappelijk hebben. Maar het lijkt erop dat ik een gezicht heb dat zegt ‘praat met mij! no problemo!

En ik vind het leuk!

Toen ik onderweg was naar Londen, zat ik naast een Koreaan die in de UK studeert, en we hadden een gesprek over de culturele verschillen tussen Europa en Azie. Het kan zijn dat ik op zijn schouder in slaap ben gevallen – maar absoluut niet expres!

Op het vliegveld in Doha raakte ik aan de praat met een jongen die een nieuw parfum promootte. Hij vertelde me op welke stoelen ik het beste kon slapen. Niet omdat ze zo comfortabel waren, maar omdat de beveiliging daar in de buurt was. (note to self: nooit meer overstappen op Doha)

Een Engels meisje, geboren in Zimbabwe, die heeft gestudeerd in Zuid Afrika en in Cambodja heeft gewoond, hielp me om mijn koffer op de bovenste plank te tillen, in de trein. Toen bleek ze naast me te zitten. Ze had heel veel verhalen van al haar reizen.
Vervolgens deelden de twee vrouwen die tegenover ons zaten hun fles champagne en we hadden een jolly good time!

Op een dag reis ik niet meer in mijn eentje, maar nu ik dat nog doe geniet ik van alle random gesprekken en random situaties met random onbekenden, die me altijd gewoon lijken te overkomen!

2 thoughts on “Meeting Strangers

Leave a Reply

