Do You Sleep In Your Kitchen?

Recently, I’ve been told that it’s too quiet on my blog these days. And that would suggest that my life in the Netherlands is not very interesting, or at least that nothing worth mentioning is happening. According to my family members, who will remain anonymous.

Then they started to mention all kinds of things that I had already done, and that hadn’t made it to my blog. Maybe they were worried I didn’t have inspiration.

The welcome I got at the train station in Amsterdam, for example. With a delegation from Nijkerk and around, who were awaiting my arrival armed with helium balloons.

The birth of nephew Jens, and especially the fact that such news travels way too fast in these times with Twitter and Facebook. One aunt already got the news through the world wide web even before someone had contacted her personally.

My visit to my grandma of which there’s a photograph that is not representative.

But in fact, these self ordained advisors just want to be mentioned on my blog. Like Henk, who doesn’t know the sperm whale (this is a Google translation. Is this really the name?) is the biggest mammal with teeth, on earth. But who is really good in Rummikub.***
And Mieneke, who cooks delicious foods and with whom I’ve spent quite a few hours in the car by now :)

But that is not really what I want to talk about in this post.

Today I was walking in the V&D (a Dutch shop) with my friend Elze and her (great and cute) daughter Vera. Then I found an old note in my phone, that I had put in it a while ago when I was sitting in a bus in Pokhara. I had seen a billboard with a text and when I saw it I knew that it had to be mentioned on my blog.

Till now it hasn’t made it that far, so this is the moment.

The billboard showed a beautiful kitchen.
Above the picture a smiling couple with an amazingly white skin, seeing the average skin color in Nepal. And in big letters the following:

A woman spends one third of her life in the kitchen.
Why not make it beautiful for her?

Right.

There’s many things I can say about this, which I can probably best summarize with: you won’t find this on a billboard in the Netherlands.

Finally, this.

If a woman spends one third of her life in the kitchen, it means 8 hours a day. EIGHT hours? What does she do in that kitchen? Maybe she sleeps there? Questions, questions…

 

*** it’s Henk who is good at Rummikub, not the sperm whale.

——————————————————————

Vandaag is me verteld dat mijn blog te stil is. Dat zou de indruk wekken dat ik in Nederland niets meemaak, of in elk geval niets dat de moeite waard is om met de rest van de wereld te delen. Aldus mijn familieleden, die ik anoniem zal houden.

Vervolgens begonnen ze allerlei dingen te noemen die ik al had meegemaakt, en die mijn blog nog niet eens gehaald hebben. Ze waren misschien bang dat het mij ontbrak aan inspiratie.

De ontvangst op Amsterdam CS werd genoemd, bijvoorbeeld. Met een delegatie uit Nijkerk en omstreken, die gewapend met heliumballonnen mij opwachtten.

De geboorte van neefje Jens, en vooral het feit dat zulk nieuws veel te snel wordt verspreid in deze nieuwerwetse tijden met Twitter en Facebook.
Tante wist het al via het wereldwijde web voordat ze persoonlijk bericht had gehad. Als dit zo doorgaat weten de ouders al dat het kind er is voordat het geboren is.

Het bezoek aan oma waar een foto van bestaat die niet representatief is.

Maar eigenlijk willen deze zelfbenoemde raadgevers gewoon een plaatsje op mijn blog. Zoals Henk, die niet weet dat de potvis het grootste zoogdier met tanden is. Maar die wel goed is in Rummikub.
En Mieneke, die heerlijk eten kookt en met wie ik al heel wat uurtjes in de auto heb gezeten :-)

Maar eigenlijk wil ik het in deze blog over iets anders hebben.

Vanmiddag liep ik in de V&D met Elze en haar (overigens geweldige en lieve) dochter Vera. Toen vond ik een oude notitie in mijn telefoon, die ik er ooit in heb gezet terwijl ik in de bus in Pokhara zat. Ik zag een billboard met een tekst waarvan ik dacht: dit moet mijn blog halen.

Het heeft het tot nu toe echter nog nooit gehaald, dus bij deze.

Op het billboard een prachtige keuken.
Daarboven een breed lachend stel (wonderbaarlijk blank gezien de normale huidskleur in Nepal) en daarboven in grote letters de volgende tekst:

A woman spends one third of her life in the kitchen.
Why not make it beautiful for her?

Juist.

Hier kan ik veel over zeggen, wat waarschijnlijk kan worden samengevat met de woorden: dat zal je in Nederland niet op een billboard zien staan.

Tot slot een korte overdenking.

Als een vrouw een derde van haar leven in de keuken staat, betekent dat 8 uur op een dag. ACHT uur?! Wat doet ze allemaal in die keuken? Misschien¬† slaapt ze er ook? Vragen, vragen…

4 thoughts on “Do You Sleep In Your Kitchen?

  1. Geniaal.
    En erg bedankt voor het noemen van mijn naam.
    De vertaling van potvis is volgens mijn woordenboek correct, cachalot kan ook.

  2. Toch opnieuw inspiratie vanuit Nepal…
    En Ruth: let ‘ns op je mam ;-) Wat doet ze al die tijd in haar mooie (!) keuken?
    Je weet het antwoord al.

Leave a Reply

