Amsterdam – Kathmandu

Last Thursday I woke up at 5am to take a shower and pack my last stuff. If you can only take 20kg (Easyjet to London) you can summarise the tactic with: put all your books in your carry on.

At the airport, it turned out I had packed exactly 20.0 kg. Now if I had brought my toothbrush, it had certainly been heavier!

A breakfast and a lot of coffee later, it was time to say goodbye. Before I knew it, I was at the gate and just an hour later I arrived at London Gatwick.
My flight to Doha would leave 5 hours later. That could have been 5 very long hours, but my friends from the UK, Anthony and Chloe, came to the airport to have lunch with me and catch up.

On this next flight I was allowed to check in 23 kg of luggage. Because I didn’t want to carry around 3 extra kilo’s in my handluggage, I just put some of my books in my suitcase. When checking in, I noticed I had exactly 23.0 kg in my suitcase. Practice makes perfect!

Movies, music and a smelly Indian man. My flight in a nutshell.

Doha airport is not very entertaining if you don’t want to spend all your money on “duty free” but – still – expensive stuff, but luckily I had a book with me, thanks to Lisette! So my time was well spent.

On my plane to Kathmandu I already felt like I was in Nepal, being surrounded by Nepalis trying to stuff their carry ons in the overhead lockers, not really thinking about things like a) smashing other people’s stuff, or b) the locker not being able to close.

Finally in Kathmandu, where I could enjoy the chaos of the airport. Next challenge: find a taxi for a reasonable price. Not an easy thing at the airport. But it always helps to use your Nepali (but, don’t fall for the “you speak Nepali, you get Nepali price” phrase. It’s not true. Ok, but a discount on the tourist prize is what you do get ;-) ).

The first taxi wanted 700, the second one 700 as well, the third one was willing to drive me for 500 (after some bargaining). I thought that was still too much, so I walked to Departures where there are always tons of taxis, and I found a driver who would drive me for 400.

In the end, I travelled for about 24 hours, but after a quick shower at Missy and Kerry’s we decided to go meet Crystal, who was gonna leave Nepal after having lived here for a couple of years. We spent some time with her and another friend, and then got my bus ticket to Pokhara.
When at 6pm I was waiting for the power to come back on, I literally fell asleep.
Including a 2 hour break, I slept till 8am.

Today I had a lovely Thanksgiving dinner at our friends house. They had invited several friends and we had a really good time. I think it was the first time ever I had turkey, and it was delicious!

And tomorrow back to Pokhara, hurraaaaay!!

—————————————————————————————————–

Donderdag om 5 uur stond ik naast mijn bed, klaar voor een douche en de laatste spullen inpakken. Als je maar 20 kg mee mag nemen (EasyJet naar Londen) valt de tactiek samen te vatten met: boeken in de handbagage.

Op het vliegveld bleek dat ik precies 20.0 kg had. Als ik mijn tandenborstel nou wel had ingepakt, was dat toch mooi iets zwaarder geweest!
Een ontbijtje en een sloot koffie later, was het tijd om afscheid te nemen. Voor ik het wist stond ik bij de gate, en een uurtje later landde ik in Londen Gatwick.

Vijf uur later zou mijn vliegtuig naar Doha gaan. Dat hadden 5 lange uren kunnen worden, ware het niet dat twee lieve vrienden uit de UK, Anthony en Chloe, naar het vliegveld kwamen om te lunchen en bij te praten!

Op deze vlucht mocht ik 23 kg meenemen. Om niet 3 zinloze kilo’s rond te slepen in mijn handbagage, stopte ik op goed geluk wat boeken erbij in mijn koffer.
Bij het inchecken bleek mijn koffer 23.0 kg te zijn. Oefening baart kunst!

Zes uur films, muziek en een stinkende Indier. Mijn vlucht in een notendop.

Het vliegveld van Doha is niet erg interessant, als je geen geld wil uitgeven aan “duty free” maar – nog – steeds – erg – dure spullen, maar gelukkig had ik een boek bij me, dankzij Lisette! Dus ik heb mijn tijd goed besteed.

In het vliegtuig naar Kathmandu voelde het al alsof ik in Nepal was, omringd door Nepalezen die hun handbagage in de bagagevakken propten, zonder veel na te denken over a) anderrmans spullen platdrukken, of b) dat ze niet meer dicht konden.

Eindelijk was ik in Kathmandu, in de chaos van het vliegveld. De volgende uitdaging: een taxi vinden voor een schappelijke prijs. Niet zo makkelijk als je vanaf het vliegveld gaat. Maar het helpt altijd om je Nepali te gebruiken (maar, trap niet in het “jij spreekt Nepali, je krijgt de Nepali prijs” truc. Het is niet waar. Okee, hooguit een korting op de toeristenprijs ;-) )

 

De eerste taxi vroeg 700, de tweede 700, de derde wilde me na wat onderhandelen wel voor 500 brengen. Dat vond ik ook nog teveel, dus ben ik naar Departures gelopen waar ook altijd taxi’s zijn, en hij vond 400 prima.

Uiteindelijk heb ik zo’n 24 uur gereisd, maar na een snelle douche bij Missy en Kerry werd besloten om Crystal te meeten, die na een paar jaar Nepal gaat verlaten. We hebben samen met haar en nog een vriend gegeten, en meteen een busticket naar Pokhara gekocht.
Toen ik om 18u zat te wachten tot de electriciteit weer aan ging viel ik letterlijk in slaap. Met een onderbreking van 2 uur, heb ik tot 8 uur doorgeslapen.

Vandaag heb ik een heerlijk Thanksgiving dinner gegeten bij vrienden van ons. Ze hadden een aantal vrienden uitgenodigd, wat er gezellig was. Volgens mij was dit de eerste keer dat ik kalkoen heb gegeten, en het was heerlijk!

Morgen terug naar Pokharaaaaa hoeraaaaa!

One thought on “Amsterdam – Kathmandu

  1. Yeaah! Een stinkende Indier! Die geur kennen we!
    Hoe ist in Pokhara! Sneeuw? IJs? Leuke mensen?
    Groetjes voor Hom en tot de volgende post!
    X

Leave a Reply

