This Is Just A Boring Little Update

Clear blue sky, sunshine, green hills, white mountains…when I read all the Facebook status updates about snow, ice and frozen toes, I have to admit that I really am not in a bad place. Okay, besides the conrete houses. Where they have no cental heating.

In Kathmandu I caught up on a few nights of sleep, and then I went to Pokhara. My ‘home away from home’ :)

The first week I was mainly settling down again, getting used to the rice again and dusting off my Nepali. It’s surprising how easily you forget a new language if you don’t speak it for a while! At the same time, the base was very busy preparing for the Christmas programs that are being organized this weekend. I got the rol for ‘wise (wo)man from the East’ but this was cancelled last minute.

And I organized something else last week: in a few weeks from now I won’t be eating brown beans as breakfast anymore, but toast, or eggs, or cornflakes.
I won’t be taking bucket showers anymore, but hot showers, whenever I want.
I will be sharing a house with an American, a Kiwi (from New Zealand, not the fruit) , and every now and then a Norwegian, a German and here and there some more Americans.

Hasta la pasta!

ps – just because these kind of updates are a little boring (to me, at least): get ready for a post about myths in Nepal. I just need to collect some more. Here’s #1: if you eat potato soup in the winter, you’ll get a cold.

————————————————————————————-

Strakblauwe lucht, zon, groene heuvels, witte bergtoppen…als ik alle Facebook updates over sneeuw, ijs en bevroren tenen zie kan ik alleen maar concluderen dat ik het niet slecht heb getroffen. Okee, op de betonnen huizen na, dan. Waar geen CV is.

Ik heb in Kathmandu een paar nachten slaap ingehaald, en ben vervolgens naar Pokhara gegaan. Mijn ‘home away from home’ :)

De eerste week was vooral een beetje in het ritme komen, aan de rijst wennen en mijn Nepali weer oppoetsen. Je vergeet een nieuwe taal verrassend snel als je het een tijdje niet spreekt! Tegelijk was de base volop bezig met voorbereidingen voor de Kerst programma’s die dit weekend werden georganiseerd. Mij werd de rol van ‘wijze uit het Oosten’ toebedeeld, maar dit werd op het laatste moment gecanceled.

En ik heb nog iets geregeld afgelopen week: over een paar weken eet ik geen bruine bonen meer als ontbijt, maar toast, of eieren, of cornflakes.
Dan neem ik geen ‘bucket showers’ meer, maar een warme douche, wanneer ik maar wil.
Dan deel ik een huis met een Amerikaanse, een Kiwi (uit Nieuw Zeeland, niet het fruit), en af en toe een Noorse, en een Duitse en hier en daar nog meer Amerikanen.

Hasta la pasta!
ps – omdat dit soort updates een beetje saai zijn (vind ik, althans): er komt een post aan over mythen in Nepal. Ik moet er alleen nog wat meer verzamelen. Hier is #1: als je aardappelsoep eet in de winter, wordt je verkouden.

One thought on “This Is Just A Boring Little Update

  1. nou, ik vind dit helemaal niet saai! en betekent geen rijst meer als ontbijt dat je bij die mensen (jeweetwel, hahaha) in huis een kamer kunt huren? of is er een nieuw plan?
    xxx

Leave a Reply

