How To Survive A Different Culture (1)

Everyone and everything was packed in the bus. People, music instruments, traditional clothes, and food.
Everyone was ready to perform the Christmas program in a village a few hours away from here.
Everyone, except for me.

I had to get a permit to go there, or a letter of recommendation from the village. I didn’t have the letter, and didn’t want to spend 2000 rupees just to be there for a couple of hours.

So everyone left, and I stayed at the base.”
As soon as the bus was out of sight, I turned around and filled some buckets with water.
I did my laundry.
I ate some rice.
I translated some chapters of a grammar book from Nepali to English.
I did some more laundry.

Most of the day I sat on the roof with my books and dictionaries and notebooks – with the sun in my face, a view of the mountains, and some good Douwe Egberts coffee.

No distractions, no questions, no people.

Though I had wanted to go to the village with everyone else, my day couldn’t have been any better.

I love people, and I love communities like the one I live in right now.
But I also love  being able to do whatever I want without having people around me.

Every now and then I need “Ruthie time”. Whether it is drinking a cappuccino in Lakeside, watching a movie by myself or being home alone: I need it to recharge.

So here’s #1 of the serie: “How To Survive A Different Culture” :)

—————————————————————-

my view - kind of

—————————————————————-

Alles en iedereen was opgestapeld in de bus. Mensen, muziekinstrumenten, traditionele kleding en eten.
Iedereen was er klaar voor om het Kerst programma op te voeren in een dorpje een paar uur verderop.
Iedereen, behalve ik.

Ik had een vergunning nodig om dat gebied in te gaan, of een aanbevelingsbrief van het dorp. Ik had die brief niet, en ik had geen zin om 2000 rupees uit te geven om voor een paar uur in het dorpje te zijn.

Iedereen vertrok, en ik bleef achter op de base.
Zo gauw de bus uit het zicht was verdwenen, draaide ik me om om een paar emmers te vullen met water.
Ik deed de was.
Ik at wat rijst.
Ik vertaalde een paar hoofdstukken van een grammatica boek van Nepali naar Engels.
Ik deed nog meer was.

Het grootste gedeelte van de dag zat ik op het dak met mijn boeken en woordenboeken en schriften – met de zon in mijn gezicht, uitzicht op de bergen en een kan Douwe Egberts koffie.

Geen afleiding, geen vragen, geen mensen.

Ik had ook wel meegewild naar het dorp, maar toch had mijn dag niet beter kunnen zijn.

Ik hou ervan om mensen om me heen te hebben, en ik heb het naar mijn zin in de community waar ik nu woon.
Maar ik hou er ook van om te kunnen doen wat ik wil, zonder anderen om me heen.

Af en toe heb ik ‘Ruthie time” nodig. Of dat nou een cappuccino in Lakeside is, of in mijn eentje een film kijken, of alleen thuis zijn: Ik heb het nodig om weer op te laden.

Zie hier #1 van de serie “How To Survive A Different Culture” :)

2 thoughts on “How To Survive A Different Culture (1)

  1. Pingback: How To Survive A Different Culture (2) « Ruth's Journey

Leave a Reply

