Christmas In Nepal

When living here, you would almost forget it’s already that time of the year again. In October they celebrate the victory of the gods over the demons, and then they’re done with partying for the rest of the year. Ok, besides the 360 other festivals, of course. But Christmas is the ‘foreigners party”. They do sell Christmas trees, Christmas ornaments and Christmas lights, and in Lakeside they glue cottonwool to fake trees for the general Christmas feeling. But that’s not what made my Christmas so Christmas-y this year.

A few months ago, several people had asked me if I would be here for Christmas. I noticed how excited they were when I said I would be, and wondered why that was.
Then one day a friend said: “Usually people go home in this time, to be with their family. But you decided to stay here.”
I said: “But I consider everyone here as my family, as well.”
She smiled. “And that’s exactly why we are so happy!”

I decorated a crooked little tree at Kati’s, including a wooden ornament in the shape of the state Texas, which said “Merry Christmas, Y’all”.
I made speculaas at Laurel’s, and it tasted like sand.
I sat at a bonfire with 9 Europeans, an American and a Canadian and ate marshmellows, brownies and oranges.
I watched how they slaughtered, shaved and prepared the goat, and had a delicious meal that night.
I encouraged our team hero to climb the oiled bamboo pole to catch the chicken in the top.
I danced to Nepali music.

And later that night I sat outside my room and watched the stars and thought of my family at home. In the background I heard Chris Tomlin sing:

Emmanuel, Emmanuel
God incarnate, here to dwell
Emmanuel, Emmanuel,
Praise His name Emmanuel

————————————————————————-

 

Christmas dinner 

practicing my survival skills 

preparing Christmas dinner 

preparing Christmas dinner

Rabindra, our team hero


Kheman got the prize

————————————————————————-

Als je hier woont, zou je bijna vergeten dat het weer zover is. In oktober vieren ze de overwinning van de goden over de demonen, en dan zijn ze wel weer klaar met het gefeest voor de rest van het jaar. Okee, afgezien van de 36o andere festivals, natuurlijk.

Maar Kerst is het ‘buitenlanders feest’. Er worden inmiddels kerstbomen, kerstballen en kerstlichtjes verkocht, en in Lakeside worden watten op nepboompjes geplakt voor het algehele Kerstgevoel.

Maar dat is niet wat mijn Kerst zo Kerstig maakte dit jaar.

Een paar maanden geleden vroegen verschillende mensen of ik hier zou zijn met Kerst. Ik merkte hoe blij mensen waren als ik ja zei, en ik vroeg me af waarom dat was.
Toen zei iemand op een dag: “Meestal gaan mensen in deze tijd naar huis, om met hun familie te zijn. Maar jij hebt besloten om hier te blijven.”
Ik zei: “Maar ik beschouw iedereen hier ook als mijn familie.”
Ze lachte. “En dat is precies waarom we zo blij zijn!”

Ik versierde een scheef boompje bij Kati thuis, inclusief een houten hanger in de vorm van de staat Texas, met “Merry Christmas Y’all” erop.
Ik maakte speculaas bij Laurel, die naar zand smaakte.
Ik zat om een kampvuur met 9 Europeanen, een Amerikaan en een Canadees en at marshmellows, brownies en mandarijnen.
Ik keek toe hoe de geit werd geslacht, geschoren en klaargemaakt en zat ‘s avonds aan een heerlijk feestmaal.
Ik moedigde onze teamheld aan om de geoliede bamboepaal te beklimmen en de kip te bemachtigen.
Ik danste op Nepali muziek.

‘s Avonds zat ik op het stoepje voor mijn kamer en keek naar de sterren en dacht aan mijn familie thuis.

Op de achtergrond hoorde ik Chris Tomlin zingen:

Emmanuel, Emmanuel
God incarnate, here to dwell
Emmanuel, Emmanuel,
Praise His name Emmanuel

One thought on “Christmas In Nepal

Leave a Reply

