Compassion

Lately, I’ve been thinking about compassion. Poverty is all around me. And I’ve been wondering how to deal with it. Here’s another post about it, from a couple of months back.

Poverty is all around me. And it’s easy to ‘feel bad’ for people – after all, it’s better to feel something than nothing when we see poverty or injustice, cause we don’t want to be cold hearted and indifferent. Feeling something can give us a false sense of ‘doing’ something.

But how often does it actually result in action?

Here’s the thing. Poverty and injustice makes us uncomfortable. We are confronted with our riches, the gap between ‘us’ and ‘them’, the harsh reality that not everyone has enough food or water or a family.

And it’s in all of us – we want to be comfortable.

I’m not comfortable when I see a stoned 6 year old with dirt on his face collecting garbage to make some money.
I’m not comfortable when I see a man without legs begging on the side of the road.
I’m not comfortable when a random lady on the bus demands some of the peanuts I’m eating (get lost! they’re mine!).

So I want to look the other way.

But the other night, when I was trying to fall asleep, I thought about the boy we had seen in Lakeside that day, the stoned dirty garbage collecting boy, and I got a picture on my mind of a very healthy, happy, loved kid.

That could have been him.

We all value ourselves so high. We want education, love, acceptance, learning experiences, food. We want to explore the world, grow, discover, have a happy life.

We deserve it, right? We need it.

Well, this kid is one of us. He’s no less than we are.

But he doesn’t get any of that.

He probably doesn’t even have time to think about it, if he’d even know what it is.

But all I want you, or us – it includes myself – to realize, is…that we’re in this world together. We’ve done nothing to deserve wealth, or riches. They have done nothing to deserve poverty and starvation.

These issues have roots that go way beyond our understanding.

But here’s what we can do.

The other day, I asked what ‘compassion’ is. I got some interesting responses, which you can read here.
When reading the comments, I noticed how apparently compassion doesn’t go without action. It’s an emotion, that is followed by an action.

I can look at this kid and I can feel genuine sadness. I feel for him, I want him to have a better life, I want there to be people that take care of him, love him, feed him, clothe him.

But when I don’t give him an orange or a meal, it doesn’t mean anything. It’s just emotion. Maybe emotion that makes me feel better about myself – at least my heart is not made of stone. But emotion alone won’t change this kids life.

Maybe my orange won’t, either.

But if I show my compassion to him, and to the lady on the bus that wants my peanuts, and to the guy that approached me because he needed money for the bus (or for who knows what) – maybe, one person at a time, a change will be seen.

“For I was hungry, while you had all you needed. I was thirsty, but you drank bottled water. I was a stranger, and you wanted me deported. I needed clothes, but you needed MORE clothes. I was sick, and you pointed out the behaviors that led to my sickness. I was in prison, and you said I was getting what I deserved.”

Ik heb de laatste tijd veel nagedacht over ‘compassion’. Overal om me heen zie ik armoede, en ik vraag me vaak af hoe ik daarmee om moet gaan. Hier vind je een andere post hierover, die ik een paar maanden geleden heb geschreven.

Armoede is overal om me heen. En het is makkelijk om ‘medelijden’ te hebben met mensen – het is uiteindelijk beter om iets dan niets te voelen als we armoede of onrecht zien, want we willen niet onverschillig zijn. Iets te voelen, kan ons het idee geven dat we ook echt wat doen.

Maar hoe vaak doen we ook daadwerkelijk iets?

Het punt is: armoede en onrecht maken ons ongemakkelijk. We worden geconfronteerd met onze rijkdom, het gat tussen ‘wij’ en ‘zij’, de harde realiteit dat niet iedereen genoeg eten of water heeft, of een familie.

En het zit in ons allemaal – we willen niet ongemakkelijk zijn.

Ik vind het niet fijn als ik een stoned jongetje van 6 zie, met een vies gezicht, die afval aan het verzamelen is om zo een beetje geld te verdienen.
Ik vind het niet fijn als ik een man zonder benen zie die op de stoep zit te bedelen.
Ik vind het niet fijn als een vrouw in de bus zomaar de pinda’s opeist die ik aan het eten ben (wegwezen! die zijn van mij!).

Dus wil ik de andere kant op kijken.

Maar afgelopen week, toen ik in slaap probeerde te komen, dacht ik aan de jongen die we die dag in Lakeside hadden gezien, de vieze stonede afval verzamelende jongen, en ik zag ineens een gezond, vrolijk, geliefd kind.

Dat had hij kunnen zijn.

We waarderen onszelf allemaal. We willen een opleiding, liefde, acceptatie, ervaringen opdoen, eten. We willen de wereld onderzoeken, we willen groeien, ontdekken, een gelukkig leven leiden.

Dat verdienen we, toch? We hebben het nodig.

Maar, deze jongen is een van ons. Hij is niets minder dan wij zijn.

En hij heeft niets van dat alles.

Hij heeft waarschijnlijk niet eens tijd om erover na te denken, als hij al weet wat het allemaal is.

Maar wat ik zou willen dat jij, en wij – ikzelf ook – zou realiseren, is…dat we samen in deze wereld zijn. We hebben niets gedaan om rijkdom en overvloed te verdienen. Zij hebben niets gedaan om armoede en honger te verdienen.

Deze issues hebben wortels die ons begrip ver te boven gaan.

Maar hier is iets wat we kunnen doen.

Afgelopen week vroeg ik wat ‘compassion’ is, en ik kreeg een aantal interessante reacties, die je hier kan lezen.

Toen ik de comments las, viel het me op dat een actie ondernemen onderdeel is van compassion. Het is een emotie, die wordt gevolgt door actie.

Ik kan naar die jongen kijken en echt verdrietig zijn. Ik heb medelijden met hem, ik wil dat hij een beter leven heeft, dat er mensen zijn die voor hem zorgen, van hem houden, hem eten en kleding geven.

Maar als ik hem dan geen sinaasappel of een maaltijd geef, betekent het niets. Het is alleen een emotie. Misschien emotie die ervoor zorgt dat ik me beter voel over mezelf – mijn hart is tenminste niet van steen. Maar emoties zullen zijn leven niet veranderen.

Mijn sinaasappel misschien ook niet.

Maar als ik aan hem mijn compassion laat zien, en aan de vrouw in de bus die mijn pinda’s wil, en de man die me aansprak op straat omdat hij geld nodig had voor de bus (of waar het ook voor was) – dan wordt er misschien, langzamerhand, een verschil gemaakt.

4 thoughts on “Compassion

  1. een goed verhaal voor het begin van mijn dag! je kan echt goed dingen ‘op papier’ zetten ruth! keep on going like this!

  2. My friends, what good is it for one of you to say that you have faith if your actions do not prove it? Can that faith save you? Suppose there are brothers or sisters who need clothes and don’t have enough to eat. What good is there in your saying to them, “God bless you! Keep warm and eat well!”—if you don’t give them the necessities of life?
    Jacob 2:14-16

  3. Pingback: Today I Saw Jiwan « Ruth's Journey

Leave a Reply

