Relationships, Simplicity and Revolution

Many of you know that I’ve always been an avid reader. Before I learned to read, I looked at the signs next to the road when driving back home from my grandparents, and memorized the letters on there. As soon as I got home I would grab a piece of paper and a pen and try to reproduce them.

The local library knew exactly who the Klapwijk family was, since we would come there every week once (or twice) to borrow the maximum amount of books we were allowed to take, and we would read them all the very same day, if we could.

Sitting at the lunch table, where books were not allowed, we would read the text on the milk cartons.

Growing up, my taste in books changed slightly. I have always liked to read good novels, and still like to do so very now and then, but I tend to read the genre that will actually teach me, challenge me, or help me grow in different areas of my life. Reading just for fun is relaxing, but not always satisfactory.

Right now, I’m reading three books at the same time. Sounds insane, but they’re all so good (and different!) that I just can’t decide which one to put aside.

The first one I’m reading, and actually just finished (good books should always be read twice, at least) is “Stuff my dad never told me about relationships” by Patrick Dodson.
I HIGHLY recommend this book, to anyone, from single to happily married. This book will challenge you and your thoughts on love and relationships, and the way you deal with issues in your life. It’s based on the example of Gods unconditional love.

The second one is ‘Irresistable revolution‘ by Shane Claiborne. Again, this book will challenge you. He lives a radical life of simplicity and revolution. He doesn’t just feel bad for the poor, he makes a change by the little things in life. He shows how you can make the difference, but still be ordinary: “living as an ordinary radical”.

The third one is Brushko by Bruce Olson. I’m not even halfway done with this one, but it tells the story of Bruces life, who really knows what it means to be lonely, hungry, isolated, sick and terrorized to bring Gods Kingdom in a remote place. Inspiring and again, challenging. It shows how you can be blessed and have abundance when it seems that physically and materially you lack many things.

Too often I fill up my mind and thoughts with movies, books and conversations that don’t add anything, and rather make me feel empty or restless.

If you love to watch movies, pick the quality ones.
If you love to read, pick the quality books.
If you love to talk, talk about the good stuff.

—————————————————————-

the first word I learned to write

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

—————————————————————-

Zoals de meesten van jullie weten, heb ik altijd al veel gelezen. Nog voor ik het leerde, bestudeerde ik de borden langs de weg als we terugkwamen van mijn opa en oma, en onthield ik de tekens die ik zag. Als ik thuis kwam pakte ik meteen pen en papier om ze te reproduceren.

De bibliotheek wist precies wie de familie Klapwijk was, want we kwamen daar minstens elke week om zoveel mogelijk boeken te lenen, en als we konden, lazen we ze allemaal nog dezelfde dag uit.

Tijdens de lunch, waar boeken niet waren toegestaan, lazen we de tekst op de melkpakken.

Mijn voorkeur voor boeken is door de jaren heen wel wat veranderd. Ik heb altijd al goede romans gelezen, en dat doe ik nog steeds af en toe, maar nu lees ik meer het soort boeken wat we nieuwe dingen leert, me uitdaagt, of me helpen te groeien in verschillende aspecten van mijn leven. Gewoon lezen voor het lezen is leuk, maar niet altijd genoeg.

Op het moment lees ik drie boeken tegelijk. Dat klinkt misschien veel, maar ze zijn alledrie zo goed (en anders!) dat ik gewoon niet kan kiezen welke ik aan de kant moet leggen voor later.

Het eerste boek, die ik net heb uitglezen (maar goede boeken zouden altijd twee keer gelezen moeten worden, op z’n minst) is “Stuff my dad never told me about relationships”, door Patrick Dodson.
Deze raad ik IEDEREEN aan, van vrijgezel tot gelukkig getrouwd. Dit boek daagt je uit, je ideeen over liefde en relaties, en de manier waarop je omgaat met issues in je leven. Het is gebaseerd op Gods voorbeeld van onvoorwaardelijke liefde.

Het tweede boek is “Irresistable revolution” door Shana Claiborne. Ook dit boek daagt je uit. Hij leeft een radicaal leven van eenvoud en revolutie. Hij heeft niet alleen medelijden met de armen, hij maakt een verschil met de kleine dingen die hij in zijn leven doet. Hij laat je zie hoe je een verschil kan maken, maar nog steeds ‘gewoon’ kan zijn: “living as an ordinary radical”.

Het derde boek is Brushko, door Bruce Olson. Ik ben nog niet eens op de helft, maar het vertelt over het leven van Bruce, die weet wat het betekent om eenzaam te zijn, honger te hebben, geisoleerd, ziek en geterroriseerd te zijn voor het brengen van Gods koninkrijk in een afgelegen plaats. Inspirerend, en ook uitdagend.
Het laat zien hoe gezegend kan zijn en overvloed kan hebben ook als het lijkt dat je fysiek en materieel weinig hebt.

Te vaak vul ik mijn gedachten met films, boeken en gesprekken die niets toevoegen, maar me juist leeg en rusteloos maken.

Als je graag films kijkt, kies de kwaliteits films.
Als je graag leest, kies de kwaliteits boeken.
Als je graag praat, praat dan over good stuff..

9 thoughts on “Relationships, Simplicity and Revolution

  1. Ik kan me helemaal aan sluiten bij dit artikel. De boeken ken ik dan niet (al klinken ze wel erg interessant), maar ik ben het met je eens dat het zoveel beter is om voor kwaliteit te gaan je te voeden met de goede dingen! Dus, ik doe hier in Nijkerk met je mee!

  2. Tim Keller is ook een aanrader (met name Counterfeit gods)! Ik ga Irresistable Revolution voor mijn verjaardag vragen denk ik, I like it. :)

Leave a Reply

