Cooking in Nepal – Chick Peas

Chick peas and me – we’ve always had a rough relationship. At first, it was mainly because a lack of knowledge. I had this vague association with boring, vegan and frogs . Not the kind of food that makes me excited to eat.

Later I moved to Nepal, and I would see chick peas at least once a week, with a scoop of chiuraa. It was supposed to be my breakfast. And for someone whose favorite meal is breakfast, this is not good news.

Those brown peas – hard outside, dry inside, in a salty spicy soup…that just disrespects the phenomenon ‘breakfast’.

But recently, we made falafel in our house. And what is falafel made of? …exactly. It was an emotional moment in the supermarket. This was a true life change, a turning point, a new direction!

Of course the falafel was delicious (I’ll perhaps write a post about this at some point). But: after this experiment we had a little pan with chick peas left over*. What to do? We’d had enough falafel (and garlic) for the rest of the week.

I googled it up, and of course our Janneke Vreugdenhil had an idea. Janneke is a cook, and a writer, and knows how to combine the two. Sorry, non-Dutch-speakers…you’re missing out here.

Today we had three hours electricity, which had to be used to the max. So first I baked a whole new batch of ginger snaps, that surprisingly enough turned out perfectly. I just tend to add ‘a little extra’ of the spices with the philosopy: otherwise you won’t taste it. Let’s just say you can’t deny the fact that these are ginger snaps, now.

Then it was time for spiced roasted chick peas. Super easy (especially when you already soaked them for at least 12 hours). Boil them, mix them with some oil, cumin, paprika powder, chilli powder, salt and pepper and put them in the oven.

Take them out when crunchy.

Enjoy!

Here’s the recipe, because I still love you, even when you don’t speak Dutch.

Ingredients:

– 250 grams boiled chick peas
– 1 table spoon olive oil
– cumin
– paprika powder
– chili powder
– salt
– pepper

Preheat oven on 220 degrees (this is Celsius, in case you didn’t realize).
Mix chick peas with all other ingredients.
Spread out on baking sheet.
Bake in over for about 20 minutes, or till they’re crunchy.
Serve them while they’re still hot.

I told you it was easy!

*just because I know this will entertain certain readers: a “Ruth-story”. The chick peas had to be soaked for at least 12 hours. So I put a bag of peas in the pan, covered it with water, and went to bed. The next morning I was genuinely surprised to see how now I suddenly had a whole pan FULL of peas…

perfect ginger snaps

spicing the chick peas

Kikkererwten en ik – we hebben altijd een beetje een moeizame relatie gehad. In het begin was dat vooral een gebrek aan kennis. Kikkererwten riepen een vage associatie op met saai, vega en kikkers. Niet het soort eten waar ik enthousiast van word.

Later verhuisde ik naar Nepal, en zag ik de kikkererwten minstens eens per week, samen met een schep chiuraa. Het was mijn ontbijt. En voor iemand wiens favoriete maaltijd het ontbijt is, doet dat niet veel goeds.

De bruine erwten – hard van buiten, droog van binnen, in een zoute pittige soep…dat doet het fenomeen ‘ontbijt’ onrecht aan.

Maar onlangs werd er in ons huis falafel gemaakt. En waar wordt dat van gemaakt? …precies. Het was een emotioneel moment in de supermarkt. Dit was een ware omslag in mijn leven, een keerpunt, een nieuwe richting!

Natuurlijk was de falafel heerlijk (wellicht later een post hieraan gewijd). Maar: na dit experiment was er een pannetje geweekte erwten over*. Wat te doen? We hadden genoeg falafel (en knoflook) voor een week gehad.

Ik googelde het even op, en natuurlijk had ons aller Janneke Vreugdenhil een idee. Janneke is een kok en een schrijfster en weet beide goed te combineren.

We hadden drie uur elektriciteit vandaag, waar optimaal gebruik van gemaakt moest worden. Dus eerst bakte ik een nieuwe lading ginger snaps, die verrassend genoeg perfect lukten. Ik heb alleen de neiging om van de kruiden altijd ‘een beetje extra’ toe te voegen, onder het mom van: anders proef je het niet. Het is nu in elk geval niet te ontkennen dat dit gemberkoekjes zijn.

Daarna was het tijd voor gekruide geroosterde kikkererwten. Reuze makkelijk (vooral als je ze al minstens 12 uur geweekt hebt). Mix ze met wat olie, komijn, paprika poeder, chili poeder, zout en peper en schuif ze in de oven.

Haal ze eruit als ze knapperig zijn.

Enjoy!

(Voor het recept raad ik je aan Janneke’s blog te lezen)

*omdat ik weet dat ik hier bepaalde lezers een plezier mee doe: een ‘Ruth-verhaal’. De kikkererwten moesten worden geweekt, minstens een nacht lang. Zak erwten in een pan, ruim water, en naar bed. De volgende ochtend ontdekte ik vol verbazing hoe ik ineens een PAN VOL erwten had…

3 thoughts on “Cooking in Nepal – Chick Peas

  1. Ben ik net bezig mijn gedachten op te schrijven rondom identiteit, relaties en thuis-zijn, word ik weer met beide benen op de grond gezet/getrokken door een nieuwe post.

    Haha! ja, een echt Ruth-verhaal. Omdat het een Ruth-verhaal is, zo echt. Omdat het zo echt is, echt Ruth. Een verhaal omdat Ruth zo echt is.
    lieve lezers: RUTH IS MIJN DOCHTER!!

    Enne, die andere ontboezemingen volgen nog. Of niet.

Leave a Reply

