Inspiration

Some of my best moments in Nepal are when I ride my bicycle through the streets of Pokhara, while listening Ian McIntosh on my iPod. I love racing through the city, dodging pot holes, motor bikes and other unexpected road users like cows, while listening to his music. It never bores me, and the lyrics always inspire me.

I pass people and shops and temples and I pray with the song:

Open up the heavens let your glory fall
Open up our hearts that we may know you
Open up the heavens let your glory fall
Open up our hearts, open up our hearts

(open up the heavens)

 

This week will be a tough week. Some of my friends are leaving, and I hate the goodbyes.

What I love about the life I live, is all the people I get to meet. The diversity, the fun, the languages, the different kinds of humor. The people who I share this house with are from several different nationalities, and usually there’s some other people hanging out as well. Last night we played a game with an American, a Norwegian, a Swede, a German and a Dutchie.

And while playing games, praying, sharing food and sharing stories, we have all become like family.

And that’s what makes it so hard when you have to say goodbye.

Though I’m excited for what’s next for them, and though I know that I’ll see them again, and though I’m thankful for the time we spent together – I’m sad.

But. Thankfulness prevails.

Inside my mind and under my skin
behind my eyes there’s a divine design
show me all You’ve called me to be
show me what You have in store for me

resolve this tension
and show me who You are
who You are

I was made to love

(made to love)

———————————————————–

Een van mijn favoriete dingen om te doen in Nepal is om op mijn mountainbike door Pokhara te fietsen, terwijl ik Ian McIntosh luister op mijn iPod. Ik race door de stad, en terwijl ik putgaten, motors en onverwachte weggebruikers zoals koeien ontwijk, luister ik zijn muziek. Het verveelt me nooit, en zijn teksten inspireren me altijd.

Ik fiets langs mensen en winkels en tempels en ik bid mee met het nummer:

Open up the heavens let your glory fall
Open up our hearts that we may know you
Open up the heavens let your glory fall
Open up our hearts, open up our hearts

(open up the heavens)

Deze week is geen leuke week. Een paar van mijn vrienden gaan naar huis, en ik hou niet van afscheid nemen.

Wat ik zo mooi vind aan mijn leven, is alle mensen die ik ontmoet. De diversiteit, de gezelligheid, de talen, de humor. De mensen met wie ik dit huis deel hebben verschillende nationaliteiten, en er zijn altijd anderen die langskomen. Gisteravond deden we een spelletje met een Amerikaan, een Noor, een Duitser, een Zweed, en een Nederlander.

Tijdens de eindeloze spelletjes die we doen, tijdens het bidden, het eten, het praten, en lachen, zijn we allemaal als familie geworden.

En dat maakt het zo moeilijk om afscheid te nemen.

Ook al weet ik dat ze mooie toekomstplannen hebben, en ook al weet ik dat ik ze weer zal zien, en ook al ben ik dankbaar voor de tijd die we hebben doorgebracht – ik ben niet blij.

Maar. De dankbaarheid overheerst.

Inside my mind and under my skin
behind my eyes there’s a divine design
show me all You’ve called me to be
show me what You have in store for me

resolve this tension
and show me who You are
who You are

I was made to love

(made to love)

5 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Ach lieffie…
    ik vind dit geen fijne week. Want jij moet zoveel en intens afscheid nemen.
    En als we gemaakt zijn om lief te hebben (en dat zijn we) is afscheid nemen zó lastig…
    ‘show her who You are’

  2. You definitely exude love and glow with God’s love! :-)

    You have been a huge blessing in our lives and we are excited to come back -hopefully near Christmas- and beat you at Monopoly Deal, although you’re the reigning champ for now! lol

    Truly you are treasured gem in our hearts that God has gifted us with this trip! Thank you, dear Cuz! Love and hugs!
    Chick & Lynda :-)

  3. Lieve Ruth,

    Sterkte met het afscheid! We denken aan je en bidden voor je! Toen we afgelopen anderhalve week in Mexico zaten hebben we regelmatig aan je gedacht..het is niet niks om alles achter te laten en naar een vreemd land te vertrekken! Wat is het dan mooi om te lezen hoe goed je het daar hebt. Jammer dat afscheid nemen daar ook bij hoort, maar goed om te lezen dat de dankbaarheid overheest!

    Liefs van Gesina

Leave a Reply

