I Look To The Mountains

Have you ever noticed how often mountains are mentioned in the Bible? I don’t know why the Netherlands don’t have mountains – it’s not fair. I always tell Nepalis that our highest mountain is 300 meters high. Then they usually laugh nervously or change the subject, not sure if I’m joking or dead serious.

Gods characteristics are often compared with mountains. And living in Nepal, all I have to do is look up to be reminded of his faithfulness. I haven’t looked up very often, lately. Sometimes it’s just easy to forget the truths in life.

Where my help comes from.
That I am protected.
That God provides.
That he doesn’t sleep, but watches over me.
And that he’s always on my side.

“Those who trust in the Lord,
they will be like mount Zion,
which can never be shaken
and will endure forever more!”

———————————————————-

———————————————————-

 

Is het je wel eens opgevallen hoe vaak de bergen worden genoemd in de bijbel? Ik snap niet waarom Nederland geen bergen heeft…het is niet eerlijk. Ik vertel Nepali’s altijd dat onze hoogste berg 300 meter is. Ze kijken me dan meestal een beetje glazig aan en veranderen van onderwerp, en vragen zich waarschijnlijk af of ik een grapje maak.

Gods karakter wordt vaak vergeleken met bergen. En omdat ik in Nepal woon, hoef ik alleen maar omhoog te kijken om aan zijn trouw te worden herinnerd. Ik heb niet vaak omhoog gekeken, de afgelopen tijd. Soms vergeet je zomaar belangrijke waarheid.

Waar mijn hulp vandaan komt.
Dat ik beschermd wordt.
Dat God voorziet.
Dat hij niet slaapt, maar over me waakt.
En dat hij altijd aan mijn zijde is.

“Those who trust in the Lord,
they will be like mount Zion,
which can never be shaken
and will endure forever more!”

 

One thought on “I Look To The Mountains

Leave a Reply

