About Studying And Adventures

There are people who would say that moving to Nepal, as a 23 year old, by yourself, is adventurous. But then you haven’t met my God yet.

Because was it scary? Yes, it was.
Did I know what was ahead of me? Not a clue.
But was God in charge? Yes!

And he has been faithful, every day of my life. He has taken care of me. Life with God is an adventure, but not as in ‘danger and unknown risk’. It’s more like ”exciting and remarkable’ (Merriam Webster).

There are days when my friends and I look at each other and we laugh and say, as if we can hardly believe it: “We are in freaking Nepal!”, because the awesomeness of it all suddenly hits us.
There are days that I sit in my room and all I can think about is my niece and nephew that learn new things everyday and I’m not there to see it.
There are days that I am encouraged by Abraham and Ruth who left behind their country to follow God.

So what can I say? Sometimes there’s loneliness, sometimes there’s homesickness. Sometimes it’s rough to get through the day when everyone who knows you very well because they’ve known you for your whole life is just really far away and a phone call can’t fix it.

But always there’s knowing who’s on my side.

Life is good.

When I look back over the past months and years, it fills me with joy and thankfulness to see the journey I have made.
I am so blessed, so happy, so thankful to be living here. This is my life, and life is good!

By the way, I’m in Kathmandu right now. Not my favorite city, but some of my favorite people live here. And they have a Pizza Hut. This morning I wandered around the university and when I walked down the staircase that was full with young Nepalis carrying books and backpacks, it felt like I was in school again. It made me realize that one day I’d like to study, again. There’s so much to learn. But right now, I’m not studying books. I’m studying life :)

———————————————————————–

“Beware you be not swallowed up in books! An ounce of love is worth a pound of knowledge”. John Wesley

———————————————————————–

Sommige mensen zouden zeggen dat het een avontuur is om als 23 jarige in je eentje naar Nepal te verhuizen. Maar dan heb je mijn God nog niet ontmoet.

Want was het spannend? Ja.
Wist ik wat me te wachten stond? Geen idee.
Maar had God de leiding? Absoluut!

En hij heeft zijn trouw laten zien, elke dag van mijn leven. Hij zorgt voor me. Het leven met God is een avontuur, maar niet als in ‘danger and unknown risk’. Het is meer ‘exciting and remarkable’ (Merriam Webster)

Soms kijken mijn vrienden en ik elkaar aan en zeggen we, alsof we het bijna niet kunnen geloven: “We zijn in freaking Nepal!” omdat we ons ineens weer realiseren hoe geweldig het is.
Soms zit ik in mijn kamer en denk ik aan mijn neefje en nichtje die elke dag allerlei nieuwe dingen leren en ik maak het niet mee.
Soms word ik bemoedigd door mensen als Abraham en Ruth die hun land achterlieten om God te volgen.

Er is eenzaamheid, er is heimwee. Soms is het moeilijk om de dag door te komen als iedereen die je echt goed kent omdat ze je al je hele leven kennen ver weg wonen, en een telefoontje is niet genoeg.

Maar ik weet altijd wie ik aan mijn zijde heb.

Het leven is goed.

Als ik terugkijk over de afgelopen maanden en jaren, ben ik zo blij en dankbaar voor de weg die ik heb afgelegd.
Ik ben zo gezegend, zo blij, zo dankbaar dat ik hier woon. Dit is mijn leven, en het leven is goed!

Ik ben nu trouwens in Kathmandu – niet mijn favoriete stad, maar een paar van mijn vrienden wonen hier. En ze hebben hier een Pizza Hut.
Vanmorgen wandelde ik door de universiteit en toen ik de trap afliep die vol Nepali jongeren was met boeken en rugzakken, voelde het even als ik weer op school zat. Ik realiseerde me dat ik op een dag ook weer wil studeren. Er is nog zoveel te leren. Maar voor nu studeer ik geen boeken. Ik studeer het leven :)

2 thoughts on “About Studying And Adventures

Leave a Reply

