Baking In Nepal – Banana Bread

So, I’m sure you’ve all been waiting with great anticipation for the next ‘Baking In Nepal’. Well, here you go. A real, authentic story.

This morning I looked at the power schedule and when I saw the power would be on from 3pm to 6 pm, I decided we needed something for dessert today. The decision was made quickly: Banana Bread it would be. I had to go down to Mahindrapul (the main shopping area) anyway, so I jumped on my bike and drove down.

The place to go is Saleways, an ‘almost’ Western-like grocery store with things like Twix, toiletpaper and pot holders.
But for the bananas I had to go down the street, towards the fruit and vegetable market. It’s a bunch of carts next to each other, with the shop keepers behind it, covering themselves from the sun with big umbrellas. They all sell the same stuff, pretty much.
I needed ripe bananas for the bread, but I’m sure they all thought what a cheap foreigner I was to chose the black bananas (40 a dozen) over the nice and yellow ones (50 a dozen).

The bike ride back home was a little less pleasent. Uphill, heavy backpack, a kilo of carrots in a bag hanging from my handlebar, and SUN.
When I arrived, I first had to rehydrate myself before I was ready for the baking.

Then it was time.

I mixed everything in a big bowl and then waited for the power to come on. And waited. And waited.

No, I didn’t get the times wrong. The schedule really said 3pm. But it was 4pm, then 5pm, and no power came.

My friends, this is Nepal. Ke garne, as we say here. What to do. So I put some alu foil over the bowl, put it in the (cold) oven and played some rounds of Monopoly Deal with my house mates.

At 6pm, the power came on. So I jumped up, turned on the oven, and at 6:47 a beautiful banana bread was ready.

Now, go ahead and try it yourself!

1 egg
½ cup milk
1/3 cup oil
1 1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
3 chopped bananas
1 ½ teaspoon cinnamon
1 ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
½ cup chopped nuts

———————————————————————–

Jullie hebben waarschijnlijk allemaal vol spanning gewacht op het volgende deel van ‘Baking In Nepal’. Hier is tie dan. Een echt, authentiek verhaal vanuit Nepal.

Vanmorgen zag ik op het schema dat er van 15u tot 18u elektriciteit zou zijn. Ik besloot dat we een toetje nodig hadden vandaag. De beslissing was snel gemaakt: Banana Bread zou het worden. Ik was toch al van plan om naar Mahendrapul (een winkelgebied) te gaan, dus ik sprong op mijn fiets en reed de heuvel af.

De place to be is Saleways, wat ‘bijna’ net zoals een supermarkt thuis is, met Twix, wc papier en pannelappen. Maar voor de bananen moest ik naar de fruit en groente markt. Het is een heleboel houten karren naast elkaar, met de verkopers erachter. Ze verkopen eigenlijk allemaal hetzelfde.

Ik had rijpe bananen nodig, maar ze vonden me waarschijnlijk allemaal een gierige buitenlander  omdat ik niet de mooie gele bananen koos (50 rupees per dozijn) maar de zwarte (40 rupees).

Terug naar huis fietsen was iets minder leuk. De heuvel weer op, met een zware rugtas, en een kilo wortels in een tasje aan mijn stuur, en ZON. Toen ik aankam moest ik eerst mezelf rehydrateren voor ik aan het bakken kon beginnen.

Ik mixte alles in een grote kom, en wachtte tot de elektriciteit aan zou gaan. En ik wachtte. En wachtte. En wachtte.

Nee, ik had niet verkeerd gekeken. Er stond echt 15u op het schema. Maar het werd 16u, en 17u, en nog steeds geen elektriciteit.

Vrienden, dit is Nepal. Ke garne, zoals we hier zeggen. Wat doe je eraan. Dus ik deed aluminiumfolie over de kom, zette hem in de (koude) oven en speelde een paar rondjes Monopoly Deal met mijn huisgenoten.

Om 18u ging de elektriciteit aan. Dus ik sprong op, zette de oven aan, en om 18:47 was een prachtige banana bread klaar.

1 ei
120 ml melk
80 ml olie
65 gram suiker
160 gram bloem*
2 theelepels baking powder*
¼ theelepel zout*
3 geprakte bananen
1 ½ theelepel kaneel
1 ½ theelepel vanilla extract
75 gram gehakte noten (zoals amandelen)

 

*als je zelfrijzend bakmeel gebruikt, laat dan het zout en de baking powder weg.

4 thoughts on “Baking In Nepal – Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

