Baking In Nepal – Speculaas

The observant reader may have noticed this already: Ruth is changing into a true kitchen princess (I don’t know if that even means something in English. Let’s just say, a Martha Steward.) And it’s not just that – every now and then you can even find her in the garden. One day I’ll be one of those do-it-yourself moms, sewing clothes for the kids, harvesting dinner from the vegetable garden and who has banned all packets with preservatives from the kitchen.

Yep.

But now I’m in the training phase, so to speak. But this is a good place for a training phase, because if you can cook, bake and garden in a country where the power has a schedule they don’t stick to, and where water is scarce, where the oven is electrical and simple, and many ingredients not available, you can do it anywhere.

This morning I had a glorious moment, when my hash browns turned out perfect. A combination of a low fire and patience did the trick.

And last week I baked speculaas for the first time, because a) I found brown sugar in Saleways, and b) I found a packet of mixed spices (the real deal) I had brought here from the Netherlands.

But, about that speculaas. The cool things about this country is, if something doesn’t turn out quite right, you can blame something else. You can’t do that when your oven is top notch, for instance. But our oven, I don’t really like it. It doesn’t do his job very well. The speculaas was quite nice, and brought back all sorts of December-ish memories. But I was a little glad my house mates haven’t had the real stuff to compare it to ;)

By the way, I got the recipe from the awesome book I got when I left home for Nepal. It’s filled with letters and photos and recipes from dear friends and family. And the ingredients were bilingual, which is nice too.

And Grietje, once again, no photos…when someone feels like donating me a camera (as in: one you can take pictures inside with) this could change. Until then, you’ll have to take me for my word that this really happened, despite the lack of photo proof!

———————————————————————

if only I had a mold...

Speculaas: Spiced Biscuit

200 gram / 7 oz self raising cake flour *
125 gram / 4 oz soft brown sugar
2 tablespoons mixed spice
pinch salt *
150 gram / 5 oz chilled butter
1 tablespoon milk

*when using regular flour, add 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and 1 teaspoon salt per cup of flour

– In a bowl combine the cake flour, brown sugar, mixed spice and a pinch of salt. Dice the butter and mix into the flour. Then using a pastry cutter or two knives cut through the flour into smaller pieces. Add the milk and with cool hands quickly knead everything to a firm dough.

– Wrap the dough in a clingfilm and leave to rest in a cool place for at least 2 hours, but preferably for a day to develop the spice flavour. (seriously, do this! it will taste way better)

– Preheat the oven to 175 C / 375 F. Roll out the dough into a rectangle about 1cm / 1/2 inch thick. Place this (or two smaller rectangles) on a lined baking tray and bake the spiced biscuit in the oven for about 30 minutes until done.

– Cool the biscuit on a wire rack. Break the biscuit in pieces and serve.

———————————————————————

De oplettende lezer is het misschien al opgevallen: die Ruth verandert in een ware keukenprinses. En dat niet alleen, ze is af en toe zelfs in de tuin te vinden. Op een dag ben ik zo’n echte d0e-it-yourself moeder, die kleren naait voor de kinderen, het avondeten uit de tuin oogst en in de keuken alle pakjes en zakjes heeft afgezworen.

Ja ja.

Maar nu zit ik nog in de oefenfase, zeg maar. Maar wel een goede plek voor een oefenfase, want als je kan koken bakken en tuinieren in een land waar de elektriciteit een schema heeft en dat niet volgt, waar water soms schaars is, waar de oven elektrisch en simpel is, en veel ingrediënten niet verkrijgbaar, dan kan je dat overal.

Vanmorgen had ik een glorieus momentje, toen mijn hash browns perfect werden. Een combinatie van een laag vuurtje en geduld leverde dit resultaat op.

En afgelopen week heb ik voor het eerst speculaas gebakken, want a) ik vond bruine suiker in de Saleways, en b) ik vond een zakje speculaaskruiden die ik nog uit Nederland had meegenomen. Ohh wat zou ik er veel voor over hebben om hier een Dille&Kamille te hebben.

Maar die speculaas dus. Het mooie van dit land is, dat als iets niet helemaal goed lukt, je ergens anders de schuld aan kan geven. Dat kan dus niet als je een super kwaliteitsoven hebt, bijvoorbeeld. Maar ik vind onze oven maar stom. Hij doet z’n werk niet goed. De speculaas werd best lekker, en bracht allerlei decemberachtige herinneringen naar boven, maar ik was toch blij dat mijn huisgenoten geen vergelijkingsmateriaal hadden ;)

Het recept kwam trouwens uit het fantastische boek dat ik meekreeg toen ik naar Nepal vertrok, vol brieven en foto’s en recepten van lieve vrienden en familie. De ingrediënten waren tweetalig, ook best fijn.

En Grietje, wederom geen foto’s…als iemand het op zijn hart heeft mij een camera te doneren (als in: die binnen ook foto’s kan maken) dan zou daar wel eens verandering in kunnen komen. Tot die tijd, gelooft u mij maar op mijn woord dat dit echt is gebeurd, ondanks het gebrek aan foto bewijs!

7 thoughts on “Baking In Nepal – Speculaas

    • ze weten toch niet wat het is, maar trouwens, waarom zit je te checken of er in beide versies wel hetzelfde staat?! ;)

      en de webshop: “Wij bezorgen in Belgie en Nederland.” :(

      • Ik lees je verhaal ook in beide versies. :$ Hihi, en volgens mij zijn je moeder en ik echt niet de enigen.

Leave a Reply

