On The Road – Some Observations

I’m in Kathmandu, once again. Kathmandu is the capital of Nepal and is about 200 kilometers from Pokhara, where I live. That’s about 125 miles. There’s several options to gap this distance. You can walk, or bike. You can take a plane, which takes about 30 minutes and will cost you 92 dollars. Or you can take a bus, which takes 7 hours and costs 5 dollars.

When I have the choice between saving money and saving time, I usually choose the former. Not that the bus trip is that much fun, but looking at the bright side: I get to listen music for 7 hours, talk to random tourists and Nepalis and I usually find inspiration for at least 2 new posts on my blog.

Here’s the result of observing fellow travelers. Please don’t be offended – I’m not talking about you.

MOST OBNOXIOUS – THE KOREANS
What else can I say? They talk a lot. And very loudly. Fortunately, they usually hire their personal mini van to travel around with their group. Koreans Never. Travel. Alone.

MOST DEMANDING – THE FRENCH
bus guy: “Sorry sir, your seat is over there.” (all the way in the back)
French guy: “But I wanna sit here. And it’s empty.”
bus guy: “Sir, it’s reserved. You have seat 19.”
French guy (sits down at front seat) “But I prefer this one.”

Not to mention the enormous suitcases that they insist on taking IN the bus, cause it’s ‘too fragile’ to put in the back of the bus.

LOWEST SELF ESTEEM – THE INDIANS
Beware of the Indian tourist in Nepal. When you least expect it, they will creep up behind you and have a friend take their picture with you. Others will ask if you can be in a picture with them. They can show these pictures to their friends and families later on and brag about their ‘foreign friends’.
Families will do this, but also young guys. A friend of mine said she’d carry around a sign with her that she could hold up in the picture. It said “THIS GUY IS NOT MY BOYFRIEND. I HAVE NOT SLEPT WITH HIM.”

WORST DRESSED – THE DUTCH
Seriously – is this just something you’d call ‘vacation outfit’ ? Or do you wear this at home, too? I understand your need for ‘practical’ clothes when on vacation, but you really couldn’t find anything that would look just a little better on you?

————————————————————————-

Ik ben weer eens in Kathmandu. Kathmandu is de hoofstad van Nepal, en ligt op ongeveer 200 kilometer afstand van Pokhara, waar ik woon. Er zijn een verschillende manieren om die afstand te overbruggen. Je kan natuurlijk lopen of fietsen. Je kan met het vliegtuig gaan,  wat een half uur duurt en het kost 92 dollar. Of je kan met de bus gaan, wat 7 uur duurt en 5 dollar kost.

Als ik moet kiezen tussen geld besparen en tijd besparen, dan kies ik meestal voor het eerste. Het is niet dat de busreis zo leuk is, maar aan de andere kant: ik kan 7 uur lang muziek luisteren en met random toeristen en Nepali’s praten, en ik krijg meestal inspiratie voor op z’n minst 2 nieuwe posts voor mijn blog.

Hier is het resultaat van het observeren van een aantal medereizigers. Voel je niet aangesproken, ik heb het niet over jou.

MEEST VERVELEND – KOREANEN
Tja, wat kan ik hier verder over zeggen? Ze praten veel. En hard. Gelukkig huren ze meetal hun eigen minibusje om met hun groep rond te reizen. Koreanen reizen NOOIT alleen.

MEEST VEELEISEND – FRANSEN
busjongen: “Het spijt me meneer, uw stoel is daar.” (helemaal achterin)
Fransman: “Maar ik wil hier zitten. En er zit toch niemand.”
busjongen: “Meneer, deze plek is gereserveerd. U heeft stoel nummer 19.”
Fransman (gaat zitten) “Maar ik zit liever hier.”

En dan heb ik het nog niet eens over de enorme koffers die perse IN de bus moeten, want het is ‘te breekbaar’ om in het bagageruim te stoppen.

MINSTE ZELFVERTROUWEN – INDIERS
Pas op voor de Indische toerist in Nepal. Wanneer je het het minst verwacht, duiken ze ineens achter je op zodat ieamnd aan foto van hen kan maken, met jou. Anderen vragen of je met ze op de foto wil. Die kunnen ze vervolgens aan hun vrienden en familie laten zien en opscheppen over hun ‘buitenlandse vrienden’.
Families doen dit, maar ook jongeren. Een vriendin vertelde dat ze een papier bij zich heeft die ze omhoog houdt in de foto, waarop staat “DIT IS NIET MIJN VRIEND. IK BEN NIET MET HEM NAAR BED GEWEEST”


SLECHTS GEKLEED – NEDERLANDERS
Is dit wat je noemt je ‘vakantie outfit’, of draag je dit thuis ook? Ik snap dat je ‘praktsiche’ kleren nodig hebt op vakantie, maar kon je echt niets vinden dat je beter stond dan dit?


One thought on “On The Road – Some Observations

Leave a Reply

