An Optimist In Kathmandu

So yes, I’m still hanging out in Kathmandu. The immigration office decided that the week I needed my visa, was a good time to move their whole office to a new location. What can I say – I think it’s all a complot to turn me into a pessimist (the whole system is against me!! boohooo!!) but I decided that optimism is more fun anyway.

The thing that probably bothers me the most though, is my flip flops. When I left my house in Pokhara on Tuesday May 10th, at 6:45 am, I forgot to change my ‘indoor flip flops’ for my ‘outdoor Birkenstocks’. I was sitting in the taxi, not too far from my house when I looked down at my feet and realized my mistake.

You gotta understand that these flip flops are different. I didn’t buy them myself – they were my birthday gift last year. They’re plastic. They’re a little too big. And apparently they give me blisters when I walk around on them for too long, which I usually don’t do inside the house. So I didn’t know that.

I looked down at my red plastic uncomfortable flipflops and I thought: we could turn around, but why would I, I’ll be ok on these for a couple of days.

In my optimism, I didn’t bring many clothes. I also didn’t bring a rain jacket. And I’m running out of shampoo since I brought just a small bottle.

In short: I thought I’d be back in Pokhara that same week. Yes, you can laugh (cause I am, too). And you can tell me: come on Ruth, don’t you know NOTHING in Nepal is done fast? You still haven’t learned? Really?

Well, in my opinion, being a realist is very close to being a pessimist. And I don’t wanna be a pessimist. In fact, I’d rather be an optimist with blisters and greasy hair, than a pessimist.

See you on Monday, Pokhara!!

And here’s a little video that shows all the FUN we have while people decide it’s a good day to strike when foreigners need their visa.
Cause this is what optimists do. Strike = no traffic = cleaner air = time to bike around Kathmandu!
Soon I’ll upload a video where you can see how ringroad really looks like. Stay tuned.

——————————————————————–

——————————————————————–

Inderdaad, ik ben nog steeds in Kathmandu. Het immigratie kantoor besloot dat deze week een goed moment was om hun hele kantoor te verhuizen naar een nieuwe locatie, terwijl ik mijn visum nodig had. Ik ben er inmiddels van overtuigd dat het een complot is met als doel mij in een pessimist te veranderen (het hele systeem is tegen mij, boohoo!!!) maar ik heb besloten dat het leuker is om een optimist te zijn.

Waar ik eigenlijk het meest last van heb, zijn mijn slippers. Toen ik op dinsdag 10 mei om 6:45 ‘s ochtends mijn huis in Pokhara verliet, vergat ik om mijn ‘indoor slippers’ om te ruilen voor mijn ”outdoor Birkenstocks’. Ik zat in de taxi, en we waren nog niet ver van mijn huis vandaan toen ik naar mijn voeten keek en mijn vergissing opmerkte.

Het punt is, deze slippers zijn anders. Ik heb ze niet zelf gekocht – het was mijn verjaardagscadeau vorig jaar. Ze zijn plastic. Ze zijn iets te groot. En ze zorgen blijkbaar voor blaren als ik er te lang op loop, wat ik niet wist omdat ik ze altijd alleen binnen aan heb.

Ik keek naar mijn rode plastic slippers en ik dacht: we kunnen nu nog omkeren, maar wat maakt het uit, ik kan hier wel een paar dagen op lopen.

In mijn optimisme had ik niet veel kleren ingepakt. Ik had ook geen regenjas meegenomen. En mijn shampoo is bijna op omdat ik een klein flesje had meegenomen.

Samengevat: ik dacht dat ik diezelfde week weer terug zou zijn in Pokhara. Ja hoor, u mag lachen (want dat doe ik ook). En zeg het maar: kom op Ruth, je weet toch dat NIETS in Nepal snel geregeld is? Heb je het dan nog steeds niet geleerd? Echt niet?

Maar naar mijn mening is een realist bijna hetzelfde als een pessimist. En ik wil geen pessimist zijn. Ik ben nog liever een optimist met blaren en vet haar, dan een pessimist.

Tot maandag, Pokhara!!

En hierbij een filmpje waarop je kan zien wat voor leuke dingen we doen als mensen besluiten dat het een mooie dag is om te staken, als buitenlanders een visum nodig hebben.
Want dat is wat optimisten doen. Staking = geen verkeer = schonere lucht = tijd om rond heel Kathmandu te fietsen!
Ik zal binnenkort een filmpje uploaden waarop je kan zien hoe de ringroad er normaal uitziet. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

