Two Weeks of Rice, Tea and More Awesomeness

Tomorrow morning 5 am (yes, that is in the middle of the night) I’ll get on a taxi that will take me to Baglung buspark, where I’ll drink a cup of tea, buy a bys ticket, and then I’ll be on 2 or 3 different buses for the rest of the day (10 hours? 12 hours? ). This bus will take us over a narrow and badly maintained road to a village high up in the mountains, where I’ll roll out my sleeping bag in one of the many guesthouses, and then I’ll probably eat a big plate of dal bhaat.

And then I’ll stay there for the next 2 weeks.

But I won’t be by myself – I’ll be there with Nita, and one uncle will travel with us to make sure we’ll get there safely.

We’re gonna eat a lot of rice, drink many cups of tea, talk to many people, do research, listen to stories, and admire the mountains.

All I have to do now is pack my bag, and stock up with biscuits and instant noodles. Other than that, I’m totally ready.

And I’ll celebrate my 25th birthday in the village. An awesome birthday (a quarter of an age!) at a special place. I’ll think about you all when I toast to my own life with a glass of butter tea :)

——————————————————–

The Lord is on my side: I will not fear. What can man do to me?

——————————————————–

Morgen om 5:00 (dat is ‘s nachts, ja) stap ik in de taxi naar Baglung Buspark, waar ik een kopje thee drink, een buskaartje koop, en vervolgens zit ik de hele dag (10 uur? 12 uur) in 2 of 3 verschillende bussen, die ons over een smalle en slecht onderhouden weg naar een dorp hoog in de bergen brengen, waar ik mijn slaapzakje uitrol in 1 van de vele guesthouses, en waarna ik waarschijnlijk een groot bord dal bhaat eet.

En daar blijf ik dan meteen de komende twee weken.

Gelukkig ben ik niet alleen – ik ben daar samen met Nita, en een uncle reist met ons mee zodat hij zeker weet dat we veilig aankomen.

We gaan een heleboel rijst eten, thee drinken, met heel veel mensen praten, onderzoek doen, naar verhalen luisteren, en de bergen bewonderen.

Ik moet alleen nog even mijn tas inpakken, en een voorraad koekjes en instant noodles inslaan. Maar verder ben ik er helemaal klaar voor.

O ja – en ik vier mijn 25e verjaardag in het dorp. Een mooie verjaardag (een kwart eeuw!) op een bijzondere plek. Ik zal mijn vlaggetjeslijn meenemen en aan jullie denken als ik met een glas boterthee op mijn eigen leven proost :)

3 thoughts on “Two Weeks of Rice, Tea and More Awesomeness

  1. Wauw..wat een mooie start van een nieuw levensjaar! Wij denken ook aan je terwijl we uitkijken op de zwart-witte koeien in de wei :)

Leave a Reply

