Peanut Butter, Tea and Coffee

Well…where to start? With the first day maybe, which beforehand seemed to be the hardest part of the whole trip, but that in retrospect really was a piece of cake compared to the way back. Yeah, the way back…something about rain, land slides and a road block. But I’ll tell about that later, cause this is how I make sure my readers come back :)

At 5:30 am, sitting in a sketchy ‘restaurant’ at the buspark, I decided that in the following 2 weeks I would not complain, and that I would eat whatever people would offer me. I made this decision when I was offered a peanutbutter sandwich…yeah, brave decision indeed. I have never quite understood peanut sandwiches. With the Nepali version of bread, you get a bite of dry stuff in your mouth that you can only get rid of with a cup of tea.

But…I didn’t complain and ate the whole thing. Really.

Bus #1 got to its destination without any problems. Ok, almost no problems. Somwhere along the way they were reparing a land slide, so we patiently waited till they were done. They barely do anything about prevention here, cause they live according to the ‘ke garne’ mentality. That means something like, ‘what to do’. When the rainy season comes, there will be problems on the road. Ke garne? That’s how it is. And when there happens to be a land slide, it’s time to do something about it. The busses can wait.

Bus #2 made me pay double. That’s how it is in Nepal – as a foreigner, you’re always the pineut. Or the sjaak. I don’t know how that translates in English. But you always pay more for everything. The Nepalis that understand a little more economics than the average shoe mender will always tell me ‘but you get 97 rupees for your one euro!’. The fact that there is not that many euros on my account either, and that I’m not here as a tourist to support the Nepali economy, doesn’t change their conviction that it’s a completely fair system.

Bus #2 had some problems when we took off. The left wheel on the back was not working very well. At first they just happily kept driving, until some passengers started protesting. They stopped the bus and inspected the issue. The conclusion: a stone in the wheel. How that is possible is a mystery to me, but they fixed the problem and we continued our journey.

After bus #3, and 12 hours of traveling, we reached our destination. We would stay in a hotel where a friend of a friend of Bir uncle had stayed, about 10 years ago. That’s how it goes in Nepal. We also arranged a nice discount right away, cause we were aquaintances, after all. Yep, that’s how it goes in Nepal.

About that road. I will never, yes really, never again complain about the ‘highway’ between Kathmandu and Pokhara. Because that is a very smooth and comfortable road compared to the road in the mountains. We were bouncing through the whole bus while I could see the deep ravine next to me, through the window.

And about the village. A beautiful old Nepali village, where the chicken and cows are happily wandering around, but also with phone – and power wires, and since about 5 years a road and many buses and motor bikes drive through every day.
That’s Nepal – one foot in 1950, the other foot in 2011.

Whatever village we visited, even kilometers down the road, people would mention the Dutch guy that built a hotel in our village. He has really made an impression on everyone as he built it himself, with his dad helping him, and some Nepalis he hired.
He had nasi goreng on the menu, and real Dutch Douwe Egberts filter coffee. And what’s the price of one cup of that coffee?
265 rupees.
Two hundred and sixty five.
That’s 3,73 dollars.

A cup of Nepali tea costs 15-30 rupees.

What can you do with 265 rupees in Nepal?

In our hotel, an ‘expensive’ hotel, a plate of dal bhaat (the most expensive item on the menu, since you always get refills of rice, veggies and dal) cost 250 rupees.
Our room was 200 a night.
The bus from Pokhara to Beni (6 hours) cost 200 rupees a person.

So no, I didn’t get a cup of this coffee. I did have another treat for my own birthday, although it was one day too late. But I’ll get back to that later…

—————————————————————————-

the village

—————————————————————————-

Tja…waar zal ik beginnen? Met de heenreis dan maar, die van tevoren het moeilijkste deel leek van de tocht, maar achteraf een eitje bleek vergeleken met de terugreis. Ja, die terugreis…iets met regen, landslides en een wegblokkade. Dat vertel ik later wel, want zo zorg ik ervoor dat mijn lezers terugkomen ;)

Om half 6 ‘s ochtends, aan een gammel tafeltje in een ‘restaurantje’ bij het buspark besloot ik dat ik in die twee weken niet zou klagen, en zou eten wat me werd aangeboden. Dit besloot ik op het moment dat me een boterham met pindakaas werd aangeboden. Boterhammen met pindakaas heb ik nooit begrepen. Een verse bruine boterham, dat gaat nog – maar met de Nepali versie van brood heb je met elke hap een mond vol droge troep die je alleen met thee kan wegspoelen.
Maar…ik klaagde niet en at ‘m braaf op. Echt waar.

Bus #1 ging zonder problemen op pad. Okee, bijna. Ergens onderweg werd een landslide gerepareerd dus we wachtten geduldig af tot we verder mochten. Er wordt hier weinig aan preventie gedaan, er wordt geleefd volgens de ‘ke garne’ mentaliteit. Dat betekent zoiets als, ‘wat doe je eraan’. Als de regentijd komt, zorgt dat voor problemen op de weg. Ke garne? Zo is het gewoon. En als er een landslide komt, dan wordt het tijd om er wat aan te doen. De bussen wachten wel.

Bus #2 liet mij het dubbele tarief betalen. Zo gaat dat in Nepal – als buitenlander ben je altijd de sjaak. Je betaalt overal meer voor. De Nepali’s die iets meer begrijpen van economie dan de gemiddelde schoenpoetser vertellen me dan altijd enthousiast ‘maar jij krijgt wel 97 rupees voor jouw euro’. Dat er op mijn rekening ook niet bijzonder veel eurootjes staan, en dat ik geen toerist ben die even de Nepali economie op gang komt helpen, verandert niets aan hun overtuiging dat dit een uitermate eerlijk systeem is.
Bus #2 had bij vertrek al wat problemen. Het linker achterwiel hobbelde nogal raar. Eerst werd er vrolijk doorgereden, maar na protest van de passagiers werd de bus stopgezet en aan inspectie onderworpen. De uitkomst: een steen in het wiel. Hoe dat kan is me een raadsel, maar het werd euvel werd verholpen en we konden verder.

Na bus #3, kwamen we na 12 uur aan op onze bestemming. We overnachtten in een hotel waar een vriend van een vriend van Bir uncle 10 jaar geleden had overnacht. Zo gaat dat in Nepal. We regelden meteen een mooie korting want we waren tenslotte kennissen van de familie. Ja, zo gaat dat in Nepal.

Nog even over de weg. Ik zal nooit, nee echt nooit meer klagen over de ‘snelweg’ tussen Kathmandu en Pokhara. Want dat is een heerlijke gladde, uitermate comfortabele weg vergeleken met de bergweg. We stuiterden de hele bus door terwijl ik naast me diep in het ravijn de rivier zag.

Dan het dorp. Een prachtig oud Nepali dorpje, waar de kippen en de koeien lekker rondwandelen, maar met telefoon- en elektriciteitskabels, en sinds een jaar of 5 een weg waar bussen en motoren over heen komen scheuren. Dat is Nepal – met 1 been in 1950, en met 1 been in 2011.

Iedereen, in elk dorp waar we kwamen, ook kilometers verder langs de rivier, vertelde me enthousiast over die Nederlander die een hotel had gebouwd in ons dorp. Hij heeft nogal indruk gemaakt op iedereen door het zelf te bouwen, met hulp van zijn vader en een paar ingehuurde Nepali’s.
Hij had nasi goreng op het menu, en echte Douwe Egberts filterkoffie. En wat kost een kopje?
265 rupees.
Twee honderd en vijf en zestig.
Dat is 2,57 euro.

Een kopje Nepali thee kost 15-30 rupees.

Wat kan je met 265 rupees in Nepal?
In ons hotel, een ‘duur’ hotel, kostte een bord dal bhaat (het duurste item op het menu, je hebt namelijk altijd refill van rijst, groenten en dal) 250 rupees.
Onze kamer kostte 200 per nacht.
De busrit van Pokhara naar Beni (6 uur) kostte 200 rupees per persoon.

Je begrijpt, ik heb deze koffie aan mijn neus voorbij laten gaan. Ik had wel een andere traktatie voor mijn eigen verjaardag, al was het een dag te laat. Maar daar kom ik later op terug…

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter, Tea and Coffee

  1. ik ga wel klagen: je blog is veel te kort! ik wil meer, meer, meer…..:p
    nee, ik vind het geweldig! heerlijk om te lezen: wat een avonturen……ik ben benieuwd naar het vervolg :)

  2. Wauw, Ruth, je moet vaker zo’n reis maken. Ik heb nog nooit zo hard gelachen om een post als bij deze. Ik zal nooit meer drinken tijdens het lezen van je verhalen. Dat is gevaarlijk.

  3. Pingback: Friends in Kathmandu « Ruth's Journey

Leave a Reply

