Time Times Three

TIME FLIES

Sinds een tijdje ben ik bezig om dromen en plannen die ik voor de toekomst heb, uit te tekenen. Dat klinkt waarschijnlijk cooler dan het is. Ik ben niet echt wat je zegt een kunstenaar. Lang, lang geleden, toen ik nog een klein meisje was, liet de meester me een schilderij minstens vijf keer overdoen, want hij vond dat ik beter kon (het was een schilderij op een schotel, dus ik moest ‘m gewoon elke keer onder de kraan afspoelen en overnieuw beginnen. Over trauma’s gesproken.)

Ik teken nu omdat ik het leuk vind, en omdat creatief zijn goed voor je is, en omdat ik nooit teken, en omdat ik ze toch niet aan jou ga laten zien. Wat mijn dromen dan zijn? Iets met reizen, boeken, Mongolie, China, koffie,  bergen…

Dit jaar werd ik 25. Ik vierde mijn verjaardag op een afgelegen berg in de Himalaya. We klommen een paar uur om naar een bergmeertje te gaan, en ook zonder vlaggetjes, taart, en cadeaus was het pretty darn cool.

En terwijl mijn werk hier steeds meer vorm en richting krijgt, en mijn leven ook, denk ik na over later. Niet omdat ik niet genoeg heb aan het nu, maar omdat het nu alles te maken heeft met later. Ik wil niet op mijn 50e bedenken wat ik had willen doen. En, zoals jullie allemaal weten, time flies :)


THE SECRET POWERS OF TIME

Ik zag laatst een interessant filmpje over verschillende percepties van ‘tijd’.

Het geeft een verklaring waarom ik genoeg geld meenam de bergen in om 3 personen terug te laten vliegen, ook al planden we om met de bus te gaan – en waarom mijn Nepali reisgenoot geen noodfonds bij zich had.

Het geeft een verklaring waarom gaten in de weg hier elke paar maanden worden ”gerepareerd’ met stenen en rijstzakken.

Het geeft een verklaring waarom mensen vaak opmerken dat het leven in Nepal in zekere zin ‘simpeler’ is dan in Europa.

Ik vond vooral de eerste helft interessant; de tweede helft iets minder en de redenering hoe online gaming je hersens ‘re-wired’ vond ik niet veel toevoegen. Maar kijk, en oordeel zelf.

THIS IS YOUR TIME

Tot slot, om deze twee dingen een beetje bij elkaar te brengen: ik las laatst de voorpublicatie van Patrick Dodson’s nieuwe boek (onthou die naam, bestel zijn boeken, is goed voor je). En hij kan dit soort dingen beter verwoorden dan ik.

Eerst een quote, om je nieuwsgierig te maken, zodat je snel op deze link klikt om hoofdstuk 1 te lezen. (Het boek komt uit in september.)

The difference between the person achieving
their potential, or at least following their
dream, and the one who’s stuck, is that the
dreamer already sees themselves as living
out their identity. They don’t think “One day
I’ll be a musician”, they already are that
musician
as far as their heart is concerned.
The expression of that gift will mature throughout
the years, which to them is about
when not if.
The rest is simply a timing issue.

——————————————————————————

—————————————————————————–

TIME FLIES

Recently, I’ve started to draw out my plans and dreams for the future. This may sound cooler than it actually is. I’m not exactly an artist. A very long time ago, when I was still a very little Ruth, my teacher let me redo my painting at least 5 times, cause he said I could do better (it was a painting on a saucer , so I just had to go wash it off and start over. Talking about traumas.)

Now I draw because I enjoy it, and because being creative is good for you, and because I never draw, and because I’m not gonna show you anyway. What my dreams are? Something with traveling, books, Mongolia, China, coffee, mountains…

This year I turned 25. I celebrated my birthday on a remote mountain in the Himalaya. We climbed for a couple of hours to go see a little mountain lake, and even without decorations, cake and gifts it was pretty darn cool.

And while my work here is taking shape and direction, as well as my own life, I’m thinking about later. Not because the now is not enough for me, but because the now has everything to do with later. I don’t want to think of the things I had wanted to do, when I’m 50 years old. And, as you all know, time flies :)


THE SECRET POWERS OF TIME

Recently, I watched a very interesting YouTube movie about the different perceptions of ‘time’.

It gives an explanation for the fact why I brought enough money with me to the moutains to fly out with 3 people, even though we planned to take the bus – and why my Nepali uncle did not bring such an emergency fund.

It gives an explanation for why the holes in the road are ‘repaired’ every couple of months with rocks and some rice sacks.

It gives an explanation why people often remark that life in Nepal is somehow ‘simpler’ than in Europe.

I found the first half the most interesting; the second half a little less, and in my opinion the part about how online gaming rewires peoples brains didn’t add much to his point.

But watch it, and judge for yourself.


THIS IS YOUR TIME

Finally, to kind of bring together these two things: I read a few chapters of Patrick Dodsons new book (remember that name, order his books, it’s good for you). And he’s better in phrasing these things than I am.

First a quote, to make you curious, so that you’ll click on this link to read the first chapter (the book will be published in September).

The difference between the person achieving
their potential, or at least following their
dream, and the one who’s stuck, is that the
dreamer already sees themselves as living
out their identity. They don’t think “One day
I’ll be a musician”, they already are that
musician
as far as their heart is concerned.
The expression of that gift will mature throughout
the years, which to them is about
when not if.
The rest is simply a timing issue.

Leave a Reply

