Friends in Kathmandu

Sometimes I almost forget how important good friends are. The kind you can say (almost?) anything to, that knows your weird habits, that understands when you’re in a bad mood, and that can say things to you that they know for sure will make you laugh.

Yes, I have friends like that. Lucky me :) The problem is just that most of them live far away. In several European countries, for examle. And in America. And in Kathmandu.

Two of my good friends live in Kathmandu.

One is tall, the other is not.
One is sarcastic, the other is not.
One is from America, the other is too.

And they do the same work as I do. And they always have a couch for me for when I’m hanging out in the capitol again.

Kathmandu is not really far away, unless you look at the travel time – 5 hours in a bus on a bad road. I once promised I would never complain about that trip again, but you may understand that it’s not something I’d do for fun.

But I just spent 2 weeks here, because of a workshop, and M and K were here as well.

I teased them with the fact that Americans like to over exaggerate.
They made fun of me and my ‘Dutchness’ and I taught them some words of the world’s most beautiful language.
We complained about the tons of homework and we all took on the habit of calling everything ‘dodgy’, following the good example of our Australian trainer.
We asked the questions the othes forgot, and explained to each other how the new programs worked that we had to install on our computers.
We introduced the wonders of the Nepali kitchen to our trainer.
We laughed a lot and at the same time kept each other focused.
We annoyed each other with our bad habits (farting, snoring, getting up too early – but I don’t do any of these things, just to be clear!)

In short – we had a jolly good time!

Basically, the best way to spend 2 weeks in Kathmandu :)

————————————————————-

Sometimes we would take a nap. On the table.

————————————————————-

Soms vergeet je bijna hoe belangrijk goede vrienden zijn. Het soort tegen wie je (bijna?) alles kan zeggen, die je rare gewoontes kennen, die het snappen wanneer je een slecht humeur hebt, en die dingen kunnen zeggen die je gegarandeerd aan het lachen maken.

Zulke vrienden heb ik, ja. Lucky me :) Het probleem is alleen dat de meeste ver weg wonen. In diverse Europese landen, bijvoorbeeld. In Amerika. En in Kathmandu.

Twee goede vriendinnen wonen in Kathmandu.
De ene is lang, de ander niet.
De ene is sarcastisch, de ander niet.
De ene komt uit Amerika, de ander ook.
En ze doen hetzelfde werk als ik. En ze hebben altijd een bank over voor als ik in de hoofdstad kom chillen.

Kathmandu is niet echt ver weg, tenzij je kijkt naar de reistijd – 7 uur in de bus over een gare weg. Ik heb ooit beloofd om nooit meer over die rit te klagen, maar je begrijpt misschien dat ik het alsnog niet voor mn plezier doe.

Maar ik heb net 2 weken doorgebracht hier, vanwege een workshop, en M en K waren er ook.
Ik pestte hen met het feit dat Amerikanen graag overdrijven.
Ze pestten me met mijn ‘Nederlands zijn’ en ik leerde ze een paar woorden van de mooiste taal ter wereld.
We klaagden samen over het vele huiswerk en namen gezamenlijk de gewoonte aan om alles ‘dodgy’ te noemen, naar goed voorbeeld van de trainer uit Australie.
We stelden de vragen die de ander vergat en legden elkaar uit hoe de nieuwe programma’s werkten die we op onze laptops moesten installeren.
We introduceerden eensgezind de wondere wereld der Nepali keuken aan de trainer.
We lachten veel en hielden elkaar tegelijk gefocusd.
We irriteerden elkaar met vervelende gewoontes (scheten, snurken, te vroeg opstaan – maar ik doe niets van dit al, laat dat duidelijk zijn!).

In het kort – we hadden een jolly good time!

Leuker kun je 2 weken in Kathmandu niet maken :)

4 thoughts on “Friends in Kathmandu

  1. ahh! i just saw this!! it was a great two weeks. and since i don’t do any of those things either, i can’t believe you gave away all of kerry’s secrets!!!! hahahahaha. hopefully see you sometime here!!!! :)

  2. Ik herontdek je blog vanmorgen… Heerlijk om te lezen dat je zulke vrienden hebt! Doet me denken aan onze leuke tijd toen je nog in NL woonde. Echt heel blij dat je aan de andere kant van de wereld (ja sorry, zo ver weg voelt t wel voor mij en volgens mij klopt t ook aardig) ook zulke vriendinnen gevonden hebt!

Leave a Reply

