Thoughts On A Saturday Night

[A year ago I was in the Netherlands. I welcomed Sinterklaas in my hometown with 2 friends, I welcomed my nephew into this world, I met my niece for the first time, I ate cheese, and spoke Dutch.

It was awesome.

I also missed Nepal.

The grass is always greener…or is it? Cause right now I’m where the greenest grass is.

I am a happy Ruth.]

This afternoon I was at a party in an Australian friends house, and to my great delight, the majority of guests was Nepali. Expats have the tendency to hang out with other expats, rather than making friends with their own neighbors. I am guilty too. But the truth is that cross cultural friendships often demand a lot more energy and adaption than any other.
It’s not always easy or comfortable or natural.
And being guest in this country means you will need to submit to this culture.

Hmm. Maybe I need to make it a goal to invest in more Nepali friendships.

On a completely unrelated side note.
Dutchies! You, down to earth, rational people! Have you ever realized how strange, ridiculous, WEIRD our Sinterklaas tradition is?

Cause it is.

But I do love it. :)

 

——————————————————————-

[Een jaar geleden was ik in Nederland. Ik verwelkomde Sinterklaas in Nijkerk, ik verwelkomde mijn neefje in deze wereld, ik zag mijn nichtje voor het eerst, ik praatte Nederlands.

Het was geweldig.

En ik miste Nepal.

Iets met het groene gras…of toch niet? Want nu ben ik waar het groenste gras is.

Ik ben een blije Ruth.]

Vandaag was ik op een feestje van een Australische vriendin, en tot mijn grote blijdschap was het overgrote deel van de gasten Nepali. Expats hebben de neiging om alleen tijd door te brengen met andere expats, in plaats van hun eigen buren.
Ik ben hier ook schuldig aan.
Het is nou eenmaal zo dat cross cultural vriendschappen vaak meer energie en aanpassingsvermogen vergen dan andere vriendschappen.
Het is niet altijd makkelijk of relaxed of normaal.
En als jij de gast bent in het land, betekent het dat het aan jou is om je aan te passen.

Hmm. Misschien moet ik er werk van maken om meer te investeren in Nepali vriendschappen..

En nog iets wat hier totaal niet aan gerelateerd is.

Hollanders. Jullie nuchter, rationeel volk. Hebben jullie je wel eens gerealiseerd hoe raar, bizar en WEIRD onze Sinterklaas traditie is?

Want dat is het.

Maar ik hou ervan :)

2 thoughts on “Thoughts On A Saturday Night

  1. Ja, het is een rare traditie. Maar is Koninginnedag dat ook niet? En Sint Maarten? En beschuit met muisjes eten bij een geboorte? Tja, valt eigenlijk best mee met dat rationeel en nuchter he? ;)

Leave a Reply

