It’s Not Always Rhododendrons And Moonlight

[If you’re wondering about this blog’s title – it’s a combination of a translation of a Dutch saying, plus a reference to Nepal’s national flower. What can I say. I like words.]

Mijn blog is veel te positief. Het is hoog tijd voor wat geklaag. Als jullie willen lezen over het ‘wel en wee’ van mijn leven in Nepal, dan kunnen we dat ‘wee’ natuurlijk niet vergeten.

Ten eerste, what’s up met al die gaten in de weg? Mijn arme Splendortje knalt keer op keer door een nieuw gat wat er gisteren nog niet was. Af en toe wordt het wat opgevuld met grind en dan kunnen we er weer zeker 2 weken tegenaan.

Ten tweede, boodschappen doen. Ik heb inmiddels vaste spots waar ik groente, fruit en hele kippen haal. Maar af en toe zoek ik iets in de Saleways (mooie, grote, goed verlichte winkel met ruime gangpaden en een redelijk assortiment) en ik kan het niet vinden.
Ik zou inmiddels beter moeten weten – een vakkenvuller om hulp vragen heeft nog nooit gewerkt. Toch zitten die Albert Heijn instincten er ingebakken, dus keer op keer stap ik vol goede moed af op ze af. Het gesprek gaat ongeveer zo:

Ik: “Excuse me…where can I find %$&#?” (ik zeg natuurlijk niet echt %$&#, maar ze kijkt me aan alsof ik dat wel heb gedaan).
Zij: “Ehm…no.”
Ik: “%$&#!! You know…ehm…. vertaalt snel naar Nepali omschrijving van het product
Zij: bekijkt een paar producten alsof ze echt snapt wat ik bedoel “No.”

En dit is versie 2.

Ik: “Excuse me…where can I find dried cranberries?”
Zij: “Ehm…” gaat op zoek naar collega
Collega: “What? You mean small black grapes?”
Ik: “No, I mean dried cranberries.”
Collega: (zegt iets onduidelijks in het Nepali tegen winkelmeisje 1, die me meeneemt naar een ander gangpad, en wijst naar een doosje rozijnen.
Ik: “No, I mean…CRANBERRIES….ah well….never mind.

En hier is een gesprek wat ik van de week voerde. Ik vond een nietmachine, maar geen nietjes.

Ik: “Excuse me, where can I find staples for this stapler?”
Zij: “We don’t have those.”
Ik: “So…you stell staplers but no staples?”
Zij: “Yes.”

Nepali’s vertellen je niet graag dat ze niet weten wat je bedoelt, in plaats daarvan doen ze net alsof ze het wel weten, maar het niet hebben.

Jacob was op zoek naar ‘caustic soda’, een ingredient om zeep mee te maken.
Hij wandelde naar de plaatselijke apotheek en vroeg naar caustic soda.
De beste man bestudeerde wat potjes op de plank en meldde dat hij het helaas niet had.
Had hij dan misschien ‘sodium hydroxide’? (Hetzelfde product, maar een andere naam.)
Er werden weer wat potjes en flesjes bekeken. Helaas meneer. Dat hebben we ook niet.
“It should be a powder,” hielp Jacob hem wat verder.
Nu werden de poeders bekeken. Maar nee. Het was niet in voorraad..

Here's my hero - the Splendor. (*someone* took a stalker picture of me)

This is what I was looking for. These are not raisins.

My blog is way too positive. It’s about time I complain some. If you wanna read about the good and the bad about my life in Nepal, we can’t forget about the bad, can we?

First of all, what’s up with all the holes in the road? My poor little Splendor is bouncing through a new hole everyday that wasn’t there the day before. Every now and then someone fills it up with some gravel, and then it’s fine for at least 2 weeks.

Second of all, shopping. By now I have my regular spots where I get veggies, fruits, and whole chicken. But every now and then I’m looking for something in Saleways (nice, big, well lit shop with wide aisles and an O.K. range of products) and I can’t find it.
I should know better by now – asking someone there for help has never worked. Still, I still have those instincts from home and time and time again I walk up to them hoping for the best.
The conversation usually goes along the lines  of the following:

Me: “Excuse me…where can I find %$&#?” (of course I don’t really say %$&#, but she looks at me as if I did).
Her: “Ehm…no.”
Me: “%$&#!! You know…ehm…. quickly translates to a Nepali description of the product
Her: looks at a couple of things as if she really knows what I’m talking about
“No.”

And here’s another one.

Me: “Excuse me…where can I find dried cranberries?”
Her: “Ehm…” looks for a colleague
Colleague: “What? You mean small black grapes?”
e: “No, I mean dried cranberries.”
Colleague: (says someting indistinct in Nepali to the first girl who takes me to another aisle and points at the raisins.)
Me: “No, I mean…CRANBERRIES….ah well….never mind.

And here’s a conversation I had last week, while I was looking at a stapler.

Me: “Excuse me, where can I find staples for this stapler?”
Her: “We don’t have those.”
Me: “So…you stell staplers but no staples?”
Her: “Yes.”

Nepali’s don’t like to tell you they don’t know what you mean, so instead they just pretend they do know, but that it’s not available. Great strategy, friends.

Jacob was looking for caustic soda, an ingredient to make soap with.
He went to the local pharmacy and asked for caustic soda.
The guy examined some jars on the shelf and informed Jacob that unfortunately it was not available.
Well, did he happen to have sodium hydroxide then? (same thing, different name).
Again some jars and bottles were examined. I’m sorry sir, we don’t have that either.
“It should be a powder,” Jacob tried to help him a bit.
Now he looked at the powders. But no. It was not available..

8 thoughts on “It’s Not Always Rhododendrons And Moonlight

  1. :) heb je écht niets meer te klagen?! Dit is voor een nederlander niet veel ;)!
    Succes Ruth enne je weet het he: af en tot tot 10 tellen ;)!
    Ciao!

Leave a Reply

