I Used To Be The Granola Type…

I may not be the world’s best cook, but people, I have standards. I remember one day during cooking class, one of my classmates nearly fell off her chair when she heard you can make satay sauce from scratch.
I proudly thought of my mom, who had made us food-snobs with her anti-packets-policy.

I aspire the same thing, which is not too difficult when there’s not much premade mixes available. Still, too often I use a can of tomato puree, even though we have tomatoes growing in our backyard. But one day I’ll be a real granola-homemade bread-everything is growing in the back yard – cook.

But I bake everything from scratch.
And I wanna serve my guests real coffee, whether they can appreciate it or not. No cowboy coffee by the way – I use a reusable coffee filter, which has been renamed ‘the sock’ by Jacob.

One day I was shopping, and I noticed cake mix. You just add: water, oil and eggs. I quickly walked past it, but then I thought: what if I have unexpected guests…or what if suddenly I need to bring something for the many potluck parties we have…or just…what if…I’m lazy…(ahem).

fake cake

The mix was thrown in my basket thinking ‘you never know’ and found a spot on the top shelf in a kitchen cabinet, with me secretly hoping it would forever stay there, because no, I bake everything from scratch, with flour and eggs and butter and baking powder.

That was 1,5 weeks ago.

Yesterday I was gonna have 11 guests. The day before I celebrated 4 months of awesomesauce (by myself, as Jacob was somewhere in the village), and I decided to bake muffins.
This was the result.

 

muffin explosion

 

Deeply disappointed I turned my back to the kitchen.
But the next day I realized I still didn’t have anything to serve my guests, and I thought about that shelf in that cabinet.
Because if this comes out of the oven, what can you do?

Forty five minutes later a nice cake was staring accusingly at me from the counter. To make up or it, I made some chocolate frosting, all from scratch.

At the same time I was doing dishes, cleaned the living room, cooked food, hid the muffin explosion in the oven and was talking to Jacob on the phone. Seriously. All at the same time.

That morning I had done some more shopping, and you know how these things go – it just gets worse. Once you buy cake mix, the gate is from the dam, as we Dutchies like to say. And that’s why this can was sitting on the counter.

 

fake sauce

 

Of course, I had already explained to myself why this was ok. Because when you cook for 12 people, well you need a whole lot of tomatoes for that. And it was not like I had time for all that work, as I still had to do dishes and clean and hide the muffin fail, and talk to Jacob.
To make up for it I threw in a handful of real tomatoes, which in the confusion I had bought on the veggie market, forgetting the ones in the backyard.

And this is not all…

 

fake coffee

I really don’t know how to explain this one. But it did get good reviews on the last meeting whith these people. I also drank one of them.

Those coffee beans on the plate, well those are fake. Cause you can’t taste any coffee in this stuff.

So…back to being granola. So much better!

——————————————————————

Ik ben mischien niet ‘s werelds beste keukenprinses, maar mensen, ik heb ‘standards’. Toen ik op een blauwe maandag kookles had op school, viel een van mijn klasgenotes bijna van haar stoel toen ze hoorde dat je zelf pindasaus kan maken. Vol trots dacht ik aan mijn moeder, die ons voedsel-snobs had gemaakt met haar anti-pakjes-en-zakjes-beleid.

Ik ambieer hetzelfde, wat ook niet zo moeilijk is als er weinig pakjes en zakjes te verkrijgen zijn. Toch gebruik nog te vaak een pot tomatenpuree, en dat terwijl de tomaten in mijn achtertuin groeien. Maar op een dag ben ik een heuse geitewollensokken-zelfgebakken brood-alles groeit in de achtertuin-keukenprinses.

Ik bak alles zelf.
En echte koffie wil ik aan mijn gasten voorzetten, of ze het nou kunnen waarderen of niet. Geen cowboy coffee trouwens – ik gebruik een herbruikbare koffiefilter die door Jacob is omgedoopt tot ‘the sock’.

Op een goede dag was ik aan het winkelen, en mijn oog viel op een pak cake mix. Zelf toevoegen: water, olie en eieren. Eerst liep ik er snel voorbij, maar toen dacht ik: stel dat ik onverwachte gasten heb…of ineens iets moet meenemen voor 1 van de vele potluck parties…of gewoon…als ik…..lui ben (ahum).

 

nepcake

Het pak werd in mijn mandje gegooid onder het mom van ‘je weet nooit’ en verdween op de hoogste plank in een kastje, met de stille hoop dat die daar nooit vandaan zou komen, want nee, ik bak alles zelf, met bloem en eieren en boter en baking powder.

Dat was 1,5 week geleden.

Gisteren zou ik 11 mensen op bezoek krijgen. Omdat ik de dag ervoor 4 maanden awesomesauce vierde (in mijn eentje, want Jacob is ergens in een dorpje), besloot ik muffins te bakken.
Dit was het resultaat.

muffin explosie

Zwaar teleurgesteld keerde ik de keuken mijn rug toe.
Maar de volgende dag realiseerde ik me dat ik nog steeds niets had om de gasten voor te zetten, en mijn gedachten gingen naar die plank in dat kastje.
Want als dit uit de oven komt, wat moet je dan?

Drie kwartier later stond er een mooie cake me verwijtend aan te kijken. Om het goed te maken maakte ik nog even snel helemaal zelf chocoladefrosting.

Tegelijkertijd deed ik de afwas, ruimde ik de kamer op, kookte ik eten, verstopte ik de muffin mislukking in de oven en had ik Jacob aan de telefoon. Echt waar. Allemaal tegelijk.

Die ochtend had ik boodschappen gedaan, en je weet hoe dat gaat met deze dingen – van kwaad tot erger. Als je eenmaal een pak cakemix hebt gekocht, is het hek van de dam. En daarom stond dit blik op het aanrecht.

nepsaus

Ik had het natuurlijk al lang goedgepraat voor mezelf. Want voor 12 mensen koken, nou daar heb je een boel tomaten voor nodig hoor. En ik had ook echt geen tijd om dat allemaal te doen want ik moest nog afwassen en opruimen en bijkletsen met Jacob.
Om het goed te maken gooide ik nog een handje echte tomaten erbij, die ik van schrik op de markt had gekocht, helemaal vergeten dat we tomaten in de achtertuin hebben.

En dit is niet alles.

nepkoffie

Ik weet niet hoe ik dit moet goedpraten, behalve dat deze ‘koffie’ goede reviews had gekregen op de laatste meeting met deze groep. Ik dronk er zelf ook maar eentje.

Die koffieboontjes op dat schoteltje, dat is dus nep he. Want je proeft er geen koffie in.

Dus ik ben weer terug bij mijn geloof. Zelf maken. Veel beter!

9 thoughts on “I Used To Be The Granola Type…

  1. briljant verhaal! geweldig! en zooo herkenbaar….hahahaha….
    maarre: schrijf jij in het engels of schrijf je in het nederlands? welke vertaal je?
    xx

    • Dat ligt eraan in welke taal het verhaal in mijn hoofd komt….ik weet ook niet hoe dat werkt ;) Deze was eerst in het Nederlands en toen vertaald.

  2. o grappig, ik vind ‘m deze keer in het engels namelijk beter te lezen…..;-)
    en…wat is er nou eigenlijk mis gegaan met die muffins??? waarom zijn ze ontploft?

    • ja dat komt natuurlijk omdat mijn Engels zooooo good is en my Nederlands wordt steeds more rusty

      En het vermoeden is: teveel baking powder. Aldus de experts.

  3. Je geeft ze één vinger…:) Ik heb ook een pak Hot Chocolat Mix in de kast staan hoor…gewoon omdat het zo lekker is.

  4. Ruth, that is very funny. I hope your mom’s not too disappointed in you. You must have made hundreds of fake foods now that the dam has been opened a year ago!
    Nonetheless, we would love to eat anything you make. We hope to see you someday in Nepal and we’re so excited about your wedding and new husband!

Leave a Reply

