(fall x volume x 0,6) / lift = liter per minute

It’s not a secret that physics and technology are not exactly my ‘thing’. Maybe that’s why Jacob and I are such a great match. I get all excited talking about transcriptions and verb tenses, while he’s the happiest when he can calculate the average intake of water per hour.

But here I am, at a water technology seminar. And I must say, I am enjoying it. First I learned how to calculate how much liter you can get in a water tank, based on the fall of the water, times the volume, times 0,6 which is the efficiency of the pump.

I also know how to make your own slow sand filter, which means the expensive EuroGuard filter is really unnecessary.

If you build a water tank, the lid and sides should be 1 part cement and 3 parts sand, but the foundation should be 1 part cement, 2 parts sand and 3 parts gravel.

And I could go on about septic tanks and hydro power projects as well, but I think it’s time I go and start building that water tank now.

I’m serious.

Here’s photo proof.

this is me, mixing cement

 

and this is me, plastering the base of the tank

 

don't worry - Jacob also did some work

One thought on “(fall x volume x 0,6) / lift = liter per minute

Leave a Reply

