Why I’m less adapted than I think I am…

I tend to think I’m fairly well adapted to this culture.

But sometimes the truth comes out…

While on the bike, I overheard a guy say to his friend (both on a bike as well) “Utta gora ho!” (translates to: “there’s a *insert less polite word for foreigner*”!)

Well, gora is used for both male and female, but there’s a word for just female as well.

I looked in my mirror and saw two guys on a bike right behind me, staring at this wonderful phenomenon.

The first thing I wanted to do was turn around and yell “That’s GORENI for you!!”

That must be the Dutchie in me…

 

dutchie on a bike

 

(but I didn’t say anything, and told myself, ‘just let it go Ruth, let it go…’
So maybe I’m still more adapted than I thought I was after I realized I wanted to yell at a couple of strangers…now this is getting confusing…never mind)

 

(ps – post about road trip to Gorkha coming up soon)

 

2 thoughts on “Why I’m less adapted than I think I am…

Leave a Reply

