Leaving For A While

While waiting for the power to come back on so I can do some laundry, I will forget about my to do list for a while and blog.

I could have titled this post ‘Going Home For A While’, but at the moment the leaving-part seems to be affecting me the most. Yes, I do have to do lists for when I’m in the Netherlands, but for now I’m focused on the here and now. I’m not going home for good, and not even for a long time, but you’d be surprised if you knew how much work it still is to leave your second home for 2 months.

As you know, the motor bike is cleaned and oiled and adjusted and as good as new. Other than that…
The newspaper has been temporarily cancelled.
The didi has her instructions for what to do in the house.
The bathrooms, living room and kitchen are clean.
All sheets and pillow cases are clean and ready in the bed rooms.
The fridge is almost empty – yesterday’s left overs will be my dinner.
A list with instructions and phone numbers for guests is ready (and will be printed when the power comes on).
I said goodbye to friends from Germany, Australia, USA, UK and of course Nepal.
I drank one last lassi in Lakeside and had a last chat with my teacher.

And of course I’m not done yet, but this time I was determined to not leave the house and country super stressed, to find out later I had still forgotten important stuff.
The only remedy is: plan well, and take regular breaks.
Because if you plan well, you have time for breaks!

As usual it makes me a bit melancholic to leave Nepal, even though it’s hot here and I’m looking forwardto a cool Dutch/Swedish summer.

A final random observation, from yesterday while I was driving through Pokhara. You know you’ve lived in Nepal for a while if you see something on someones backseat in the car, and your first thought is ‘a live goat’ and only later you realize it was a stuffed dog.

 

————————————————————————————————–

————————————————————————————————–

Terwijl ik wacht tot de elektriciteit weer aangaat zodat ik de was kan doen, laat ik de to do lijst even voor wat hij is om te bloggen.

Ik had deze post ook ‘Going Home For A While’ kunnen noemen, maar op het moment lijkt het ‘vertrek’-gedeelte de meeste impact op me te hebben. Ja, ik heb ook to do lijstjes voor als ik in Nederland ben, maar vooralsnog richt ik me op het hier en nu. Ik ga niet voorgoed naar huis, en ook niet voor heel lang, maar het zou je verbazen als je wist hoeveel er bij komt kijken om je tweede thuis voor 2 maanden achter te laten.

Zoals jullie weten, is de motor weer opgepoetst en gesmeerd en afgesteld en zo goed als nieuw. En verder…
De krant is tijdelijk opgezegd.
De didi heeft instructies voor wat te doen in huis.
De badkamers, wc’s, woonkamer en keuken zijn schoon.
Alle lakens en kussenslopen zijn gewassen en liggen klaar in de slaapkamers.
De koelkast is bijna leeg – de restjes van gisteren worden mijn avondeten.
Een lijst met instructies en telefoonnummers voor gasten is klaar (en wordt uitgeprint als er weer stroom is).
Ik heb afscheid genomen van vrienden uit Duitsland, Australie, Amerika, Engeland, en natuurlijk Nepal.
Een laatste lassi gedronken in Lakeside en een laatste praatje met mijn lerares.

En natuurlijk ben ik nog niet klaar, maar ik was dit keer vastbesloten om niet supergestresst het huis en land te verlaten, om er achter te komen dat ik alsnog belangrijke dingen was vergeten.
De enige remedie is: goed plannen, en regelmatig een break nemen.
Want als je goed plant, heb je ook tijd voor breaks!

Zoals altijd wordt ik een beetje melancholisch om Nepal achter me te laten, ook al is het hier nu heet en heb ik zin in een koele Nederlandse/Zweedse zomer.

Nog een laatste random observatie, van toen ik gisteren door Pokhara reed. Je weet dat je lang in Nepal woont als je iets op iemands achterbank van de auto ziet, en je eerste gedachte is ‘een levende geit‘ en pas later realiseer je je dat het een knuffelhond is.

 

One thought on “Leaving For A While

Leave a Reply

