The Art Of Bargaining

In case you came over here hoping to learn something new in the area of bargaining: I am gonna have to disappoint you. I do not master this art.

We all know the cliche salesman in Egypt, ‘special prrrice forr you my frrriend!’ Of course in this case ‘special price’ doesn’t mean he’s gonna give us 50% discount because of our friendly face.
We should rather interpret it as ‘just for you, this fake copy of a copy of a crappy piece of art will cost 3 times more than what I paid for it, just because you are white and you think all Egyptians are your friend.’

We smile and think we are joining the game. Offer a lower price, act like you are leaving, oh wait no you come back, and hey, suddenly the price is waaay lower and minutes later we leave the shop with our newest purchase, and the salesman can cash in a nice profit. He’s happy, we’re happy.

Great system.

But it’s not just souvenirs that need to be bargained for. In this corner of the world, everything is based on bargaining. No price is fixed, not even when there’s a sign saying ‘fixed price’.
No Nepali will ever look at a price tag and think to himself ‘ah, 400 rupees, great price’. No, he will look at the price tag and think, ‘this is probably gonna cost me about 250 rupees’.

I’m quite experienced in the touristic departments of Pokhara and Kathmandu. My ‘I speak Nepali’ tactics always work. I get photo frames, floor rugs and pocket knives for prices in the category ‘Nepali speaking foreigner’. This is more expensive than the category ‘Nepali’, but still cheaper than ‘bargaining foreigner’.
The best category is ‘fixed price foreigner’, obviously – it’s the foreigner that walks in and will buy everything for the price the salesman will mention. And no, don’t let anyone try to tell you by doing this you will ‘offend’ the salesman because you’re not participating in the ‘game of bargaining’. The salesman makes great profits and is not complaining.

But since I live here, I often go to little shops for necessities like a flash light, a fan or an extension cord.

Usually something like this will happen.

I walk into a shop, and ask if they have fans for sale.
The salesman shows a couple of models.
I point at one. ‘How much is this one?’
‘Only 1000 rupees! Great price for this brand.’

And then it starts. I have to say something that shows that I wanna pay less than that. I try to say ‘pff, 1000 rupees? Way too expensive!’ full of confidence, but usually it comes out as a nervous ‘Ehh…do you think 800 rupees is ok? Maybe? It’s ok if not. No pressure.’

Nope, not very effective indeed.

Lately my default strategy is this: ‘If I buy this fan AND that rechargeable flash light, will I get a discount?’
Granted, I do need to buy a second item, but in these Nepali stores where anything is available, that’s usually not a problem.

Standard response? Laughter.

Yes, I’m serious. Nine out of ten times, the salesman will laugh at me. It’s not a mean laugh. They’re not making fun of me. In a way, it’s a friendly laugh, that I think means this:  Hahaha, nice try, but we both know you don’t know this system very well. Doesn’t matter! At least you tried :)

Usually I will laugh with them, which means the following: Hahaha, of course I know that my efforts are useless, but I gotta do something?! Thanks for your understanding.

Then the salesman gives me 100 rupees discount on the total amount with an attitude as if he’d just done me a big favor, and I accept the price, happy that I have overcome the hurdle once again.

He’s happy, I’m happy, everyone happy.

———————————————————————-

Mocht je hier zijn gekomen in de hoop iets nieuws te kunnen leren op het gebied van afdingen, dan zal ik je direct maar teleurstellen. Ik beheers deze kunst niet.

We kennen allemaal de cliche verkoper in Egypte, ‘special prrrice forr you my frrriend!‘ Natuurlijk betekent ‘special price’ in dit verband niet dat hij ons 50% korting geeft, omdat we zo’n vriendelijk gezicht hebben.
We kunnen het beter interpreteren als ‘speciaal voor jou kost deze neppe namaak van een kopie van een tweederangs kunstwerk drie keer zoveel als ik ervoor heb betaald, gewoon omdat jij blank bent en denkt dat alle Egyptenaren jouw vriend zijn’.

We glimlachen vriendelijk en denken dat we meedoen met het spel. Lagere prijs bieden, doen alsof je wegloopt, o nee toch terugkomen, en kijk, ineens is de prijs veeeeel lager en lopen we even later de winkel uit met onze nieuwste aanwinst, en blijft de verkoper achter met een dikke winst. Hij blij, wij blij.

Prachtsysteem.

Maar afdingen beperkt zich niet alleen tot souvenirs. In deze hoek van de wereld gaat alles op basis van afdingen. Geen enkele prijs staat vast, ook niet als er een bordje hangt met ‘fixed prices’.
Geen enkele Nepali kijkt naar een prijssticker en denkt, aha, 400 rupees, mooi meegenomen.
Nee, hij kijkt naar de prijssticker en denkt, dit kost me waarschijnlijk zo’n 250 rupees.

In de toeristische afdeling van Pokhara en Kathmandu ben ik ervaren. Mijn ‘ik spreek Nepali’ – tactiek werkt altijd. Fotolijstjes, vloerkleden en zakmessen krijg ik mee voor een prijs in de categorie ‘Nepali sprekende buitenlander’. Duurder dan de categorie ‘Nepali’, maar altijd nog goedkoper dan ‘afdingende buitenlander’.
Het mooiste is natuurlijk de categorie ‘vaste prijs buitenlander’, die binnenloopt en alles koopt voor de prijs die verkoper noemt. En nee, en laat je niet wijsmaken dat men hiermee de verkoper ‘beledigt’ omdat men niet meedoet in het ‘spel der afdingen’. De verkoper verdient hier mooi aan en heeft daar niks op tegen.

Maar aangezien ik hier woon, kom ik ook vaak in de winkeltjes voor dagelijkse spullen zoals een zaklamp, een ventilator of een stekkerdoos.

Meestal gebeurt er dit.

Ik loop een winkel binnen, en vraag of ze ventilators te koop hebben.
De verkoper laat er een paar zien.
Ik wijs er één aan. ‘Hoe duur is deze?’
‘Maar 1000 rupees! Top prijs voor dit merk.’

En dan begint het. Ik moet iets zeggen wat laat merken dat ik er minder voor wil betalen. Ik probeer heel zelfverzekerd ‘pff, 1000 rupees? Veel te duur!‘ te zeggen, maar het komt er meestal uit als een onzeker ‘Ehh….vindt je 800 rupees anders ook goed? Misschien? Hoeft niet hoor. Voel je niet verplicht.

Niet heel effectief, nee.

De laatste tijd is mijn standaardzin ‘Als ik deze ventilator EN die oplaadbare zaklamp koop, krijg ik dan korting?’
Voorwaarde is natuurlijk wel dat ik een tweede item koop, maar dat is in de Nepali winkeltjes waar je alles kan krijgen (voor de Nijkerkers: denk aan ‘t Kalkhok) meestal geen probleem.

De standaardreactie? Gelach.

Ja, ik meen het. Negen van de tien keer begint de verkoper te lachen. Het is geen gemene lach. Ik wordt niet uitgelachen, of voor gek gezet. Het is in zekere zin een sympathieke lach, die volgens mij dit betekent: Hahaha, het is een mooie poging die je daar doet, maar we weten allebei dat jij dit systeem niet beheerst. Maakt niet uit hoor. Je probeert het tenminste.

Meestal lach ik mee, wat het volgende betekent: Hahaha, ik weet ook wel dat mijn inspanningen nergens op slaan, maar ik moet toch wat? Bedankt voor je begrip.

Vervolgens krijg ik van de verkoper 100 rupees korting op het totaalbedrag met een houding alsof hij mij een gunst doet, en accepteer ik die prijs, blij dat ik weer over deze hobbel heen ben.

Hij blij, ik blij, iedereen blij.

One thought on “The Art Of Bargaining

  1. zóóóó herkenbaar! ik was dat afdingen soms zo zat…..vooral omdat je weet dat je moet en dat je het nooit gaat winnen. tegelijkertijd blijft het toch ook wel een leuk spel….

Leave a Reply

