Life

Maybe, if I got paid for this, I would write more. But life is happening too fast and sometimes there simply is no time to sit down and type my stories for people at home to read. And not just at home, actually. By now I have somehow gathered a group of readers from all over the world, from which many have clicked the ‘Follow’ button. I don’t know why…but it’s kinda cool!

One day I started writing about the gooood food at Almond’s café, and another day I wrote about the stress of having to get your signature exactly right everytime you want to get something done at the bank, but these posts weren’t ready for publishing yet and now you’ve been waiting too long for a new post here.

Remember when I started this blog, even before moving to Nepal?

In January I will have lived here for 3 years. That’s sort of in between short term en long term. Somehow, in these almost-three-years I have made this my home. I love Nepal. Sometimes I hate it, but I love it.

And I am still adjusting, still growing roots, still finding my place here.

At the same time, I miss home. I miss being with my family at my dad’s birthday, I miss seeing my niece and nephews, I miss having coffee with my parents, I miss being Dutch among Dutchies.

Then one day, in the not very far future I will move to Sweden with my then husband.

And though all of this may be cool and exciting, it’s also terrifying. When I think about it, I get a knot in my stomach. Not because I don’t want to go, but because of everything I will leave behind. I will never really leave behind Nepal, but this time of my life will soon be finished and I’m not quite ready yet…

But still – this is the life and life is good.

Spending lots of time with Jacob, while he is still here.
Planning for the apartment we will start renting soon, my first ‘own’ home in Nepal.
Learning how to cook Nepali food (finally).
Working hard, fighting discouragement, and sometimes being encouraged.
And keeping in mind: this world is not my home, I’m just passing through.

Leave a Reply

