Grace – A Challenge

Hey, reader. Thanks for coming to my blog. I don’t know who you are and I don’t know about your life, but today I would like you to do something.

Ask God for something he wants you to do in your life. A big thing, a small thing, anything. Keep an open mind. Don’t limit the options to what you think is doable. Anything.

Chances are he’s gonna tell you to do something that sounds crazy and/or unrealistic. It’s ok to protest a little bit.
But then, do it.

I will guarantee you this: you will learn about his grace. You will learn about his faithfulness. And you will learn nothing is about you. It’s all about him.

 

 

In a few weeks, I will have lived in Nepal for 3,5 years. Today I thought about the day I left the Netherlands, January 12th 2010. I was very unaware of the challenges and adventures that were ahead of me. I had no idea what I was doing, I just knew I had to do it.

Right now, I’m at a very similar yet different place. This coming fall I will be moving to a new country once again, and just the thought of this often freaks me out and for several reasons I have been wrestling with it a lot.
But at the same time I am looking back at what has happened since that one radical decision in obedience to God, back in 2009.

I have climbed many, many mountains in these last years. There have been many low points. Many disappointments, frustrations and tears. Many questions. Often I have wondered why it is me who moved here, why it is me doing this job that is so clearly too big and overwhelming.

I experience far, far more often feelings of failure and disappointment than of triumph and victory.

Then why am I still here? Why do I still wake up in the morning, motivated to work? Why am I happy here, why do I still do what I do? Why am I still waiting and believing?

Because of grace.

Grace.

All I know is that it’s not me, it’s Christ in me.

 

Tonight, while having fellowship with some friends, we sang a Will Reagan song. And this is my motto, my prayer, right now.

I lean not on my own understanding
My life is in the hands of the Maker of heaven

I give it all to You God trusting that you’ll make something beautiful out of me

There’s nothing I hold on to
There’s nothing I hold on to
There’s nothing I hold on to
There’s nothing I hold on to

I will climb this mountain with my hands wide open
I will climb this mountain with my hands wide open

Leave a Reply

