Compassion

We all know that poverty exists, but we often prefer to keep a safe distance. Because a close up of poverty is, simply put, not pretty.
But when it is in your face almost everyday, you are forced to think of your response to it.

And though we all know that compassion is what our response should be, a hurting heart does not necessarily initiate giving generously when you are confronted day after day after day with street kids, disabled men that push themselves through the street on a little cart, homeless people with a sky high hospital bill, abandoned babies.
Kids with glue bags in their hands who ask for money but say no thanks to the orange you offer.
A guy on your doorstep with a rice bag and torn clothes, his family is sick, he is hungry. Or so he says.

Cause maybe he is making it up.
And money doesn’t solve the problems, does it?
And wouldn’t he just spend it on drugs anyway?
And what if he comes back tomorrow, and the day after?
And I wish he wouldn’t sit on my porch like that, why doesn’t he leave…
And you find yourself hiding in the kitchen, with your cup of coffee and your fancy chocolate cookie, quietly wishing the guy would just leave now, if only he would leave….

And then you remember those words
spoken long ago

 

…Whenever you did it for any of my people, no matter how unimportant they seemed, you did it for me.”

 

2 thoughts on “Compassion

  1. ja..zo gaat het. zucht…
    Ik ben al een paar keer bij een vrouw geweest, en het is daar zó vies.Het stinkt er zó erg, dat ik eerst een paar keer diep ademhaal voor ik aanbel. Ik wist niet dat het in een ‘keurig arbeidershuisje in een keurig straatje’ in Nijkerk zó vies en armoedig kon zijn.
    Toen kwamen op een ochtend deze woorden van Jezus in mijn gedachten. Ik heb er opgewekt mijn werk kunnen doen. En het was goed. Bij het afscheid zei de vrouw: Ik vind het fijn als jij me helpt! Wanneer kom je weer?

  2. Ik herken wat je schrijft, Mieneke. Ik ontmoet in mijn werk diverse mensen en ik schrik soms van de armoede en de wanorde. Ik heb mijn oordeel soms al snel klaar. De gedachte dat God hen net zo lief heeft als mij werkt dan ontnuchterend! In Gods koninkrijk kan ik niet meer bouwen op mijn ego, op hoe ik er uitzie en wat ik draag en hoe ik spreek en wat ik doe. Zijn liefde wordt mij niet gegeven omdat mij dat door een fijne combinatie van achtergrond, opvoeding, karaktertrekken, uiterlijk en het volgen van alle regels toekomt. Wij worden geliefd door Hem, en Hij is genadig voor ons, omdat Hij dat wil en kiest. Dank voor je blog, Ruth! Je hebt je inspiratie weer terug denk ik. :)

Leave a Reply

